Hair algae arrgghhhh!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jackdp

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I've been fighting a hair algae outbreak in my 20 long for a couple of months now and I seem to be losing. It all started back in July when we went on a cruise for 10 days. I left an automatic feeder set to the lowest setting with flake food. Well, upon return the tank soon developed a nasty case of hair algae. I do weekly 3 gallon water changes with RO water and use kent or reef crystals salt. The pH is around 8.0-8.3, Ca is usually at 400-430ppm and alk sits around 9-11dkh. I use a Prizm skimmer with a surface skimmer and GAC and phosguard in the media basket. I've recently started removing the LR and removing as much of the stuff as possible with a toothbrush but it seems to grow back. For cleaners I've got about 10 hermits, 10 snails and a Sally Lightfoot crab. What am I missing?????? The lighting is 1x175 watt 10k MH and 2x55 watt PC actinics both with 6mos or less old bulbs. HELP!!!!

Have you tested for nitrates? Are you sure you are not still overfeeding? Have you been changing the RO cartridges? Astrea snails do a great job on hair algae.

Have you tested for phosphates? That could be the source of the extra nutrients in the water causing the algea to grow.

The RO water is store bought, so no cartridges to change. Nitrates always test 0 mg/L and phoshpates are present, thus the phosguard. I do have some astrea snails, would a lawnmower blenny outgrow a 20 gallon tank? I'm almost to the point of adding a sump/fuge and buying a better skimmer. Its driving me nuts!!!! :x