Hair algae plz plz help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Scotty09

Aquarium Advice Freak
I posted links before never really get answer my nitrate is 1 ppm and my po4 is <o.o2 ppm so y is this happening

I wish I could help ya, those two readings would be what I would have asked for first off. Are you running a protein skimmer? hair algae is excessive nutrients I believe. But I think your phosphates would be high then.

Last edited by a moderator:
Got a skimmer yeah and it over skims by almost double my tank

I'm a newbie with saltwater myself, just sharing what i've picked up. maybe we can keep this thread alive long enough to get an expert in here. LOL I'd like to know the why as well.

I been going bout 6 months how bout u got a 70 gallon tank

What kind of light are you running? Running any kind of sump? How often are you feeding and do the fish finish it off after 10-15 seconds?

Typically algae is going to grow if there are excess nutrients that they system itself isn't using up. The most likely culprit is over feeding and/or the lights.

I got 2 White t5 and 2 blue I feed every other day

When I bought my skimmer, I was told to always get one rated for twice your tank size, because most skimmer manufactors overrate their products. What brand/model is it? Second your phosphates and nitrates are low because they are being used as fertilizer for the HA. A skimmer is a good start but only a start. Are you using RO/DI water or tap? Have you had the RO/DI water tested for TDS? How old are your light bulbs and what type are they, how long do your lights stay on for? How often do you do water changes and how much do you do? What size is your tank, what fish do you have, how often and what are you feeding what kind of CUC do you have? HA is a PITB but the battle can be won. It will take monthes to get rid of it completely.