Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-22-2013, 11:39 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AbsoluteFaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cream Ridge, NJ
Posts: 1,058
Halide not working

Probably a stupid question but I bought an Aquaeuro 34gal tank a few months back and I went to turn the lights on and the LEDs worked but the halide didn't. They are both on the same power source, so I'm wondering if the bulb could've burnt out already? I have no clue how long they last but I'm thinking 4 months is not a very long time.
__________________

__________________
AbsoluteFaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 11:47 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
It's either the bulb, the ballast or a loose connection. The bulb should light for at least a year at 12 hours a day, although the intensity will have degraded. The first thing I'd do in your situation is try the bulb in another fixture if you can find someone who has one that takes the same bulb.
__________________

__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AbsoluteFaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cream Ridge, NJ
Posts: 1,058
I might just buy a new bulb and try that. Doubt that I can find someone near me with a fixture that'll fit.
__________________
AbsoluteFaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 05:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Try tightening the bulb first by loosening a little bit first (counter clockwise) and retightening it back. I have 28 gal AquaEuro and same thing happened to mine.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 05:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
In a wet environment the contacts on the bulb and fixture can corrode a bit. Unplug the fixture, remove the bulb and using some abrasive like fine sandpaper or steel wool, clean both the bulb and the inside of the socket. Do this away from the aquarium. Blow all the debris out (especially if you use steel wool!) and reassemble. If it still doesn't light, it is the ballast or the bulb is burnt. If you have a meter, you can check the ballast, but be careful.
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 05:36 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Don't forget to unplug first lol
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AbsoluteFaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cream Ridge, NJ
Posts: 1,058
We think its the fuse. Easy to replace so well try that first. Of it still doesn't work then ill go the other route. Thanks guys! Hope my angler isn't too upset. It was his feeding day today.
__________________
AbsoluteFaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:11 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
If it's really the fuse, be cautious cause there is a reason why it blows. As Greg mentioned, salt water residue can accumulate at the bulb socket and must be cleaned. There is a possibility that it is shorting out or if not at the socket it could be your ballast due to overheating.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:46 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,321
A light coat of Vaseline helps. Forgot the fuse...drat!
__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:54 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AbsoluteFaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cream Ridge, NJ
Posts: 1,058
Ok so I'll clean out near the bulb anyway. Would there be any buildup though if the bulb is encased? It's got a plastic covering that's flush with plastic that is bolted into the hood of the tank. I'm not home so I can't take a picture right now or look at it closely myself to see. And if the ballast shorted or broke would my LEDs still be ok? Because they are connected to it (different fuse though).
__________________

__________________
AbsoluteFaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
halide

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.