Hello! (SW newbie here)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bud29

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi all, I am a complete newbie to saltwater. Is there any complete guide to starting a saltwater reef? The earliest I see myself getting a SW tank is a year from now because they are so expensive, but it doesn't hurt to plan:D.

I do have experience fishkeeping, so I am aware of the responsibility (And serious moolah) involved in this hobby.

I am planning on buying a 40 gallon. Any ideas on the fish I could put in there?

I definitely want these fish:
Ocellaris Clownfish (I would like to get 2, one regular one black, but I heard they can be territorial. Is this true?)
1 Purple firefish
1 six line wrasse

I am kind of clueless as to what else I should put in there, for fish and inverts.

Well is this a fish stocking thread or do you actually want to learn how to care for a saltwater tank? Way harder then fresh.... So you need to ask some questions...

Well, I was hoping someone had a link to a good article about starting a SW tank, so I could read that and then we could talk about stocking after that.........

Yeah, I read that SW tanks are much harder than FW. But I think I will be up for it.

Bro i got an old thread (no longer around) but it was when i started and i asked so many questions it was hilarious, very informative. Super long, but would be great for someone starting up

Those fish are pretty good for a beginner. Relatively cheap in the hobby and hardy for theist part.
Like nu nu said its just a lot of research and patience.
Yes it is harder to maintain a saltwater tank but IMO not very if you don't have very picky/challenging fish or corals.
If you have the time to devote to it won't be bad because the end result is something you can lose yourself in for hours and a great way to wind down.