Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-17-2009, 03:05 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
Help Algae has over run my aquarium

<a href="IMG_0772.jpg picture by robodubya - Photobucket" target="_blank"><img src="http://i905.photobucket.com/albums/a...a/IMG_0772.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>

<a href="IMG_0773.jpg picture by robodubya - Photobucket" target="_blank"><img src="http://i905.photobucket.com/albums/a...a/IMG_0773.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>

<a href="IMG_0775.jpg picture by robodubya - Photobucket" target="_blank"><img src="http://i905.photobucket.com/albums/a...a/IMG_0775.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>

This is 2 days after 30% waterchange and cleaning. This has been going on for over a month now I dont know what to do as soon as i clean algae starts to come back. All levels are ok 0 phos 0 nitrates Use 0TDS ro water for my water changes. I have cut back on feeding and light. 2 pellets of food every other day and about 8 hr lights. what should I do.
__________________

__________________
robow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:26 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
What do you mean by 2 pellets? Are you using frozen food or dry food? must be nutrients entering your system some how. Just have to figure out how there are getting in there.

What fish do you have and how big is the tank?
What do you have for a cleaning crew?
__________________

__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:38 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
Holy Mother of God!!! That is crazy algae!

I could cut the lights back by a couple of hours to start.

You mentioned a 30% water change. How are you doing your water changes? What are you using for chlorine?

As well, how long has the tank been setup for?
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 04:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
I use dry food that comes in a small pellet that sinks. I have a tomatoe clown and a very small fuzzy dwarf lion fish. The tank is 29 gallons. For a cuc I have about 10 nassuri snails 3 cerithra(sp) snails a couple blue leg hermit crabs and a emerald crab. When i do a water change i clean the top bit of the san and try to syphon out as much of the algae as possible. The tank has been up for about 5 months now.
__________________
robow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 04:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
Are you using tap water and a water conditioner (PRIME)?

Sorry, I didn't see above that you are using RO water.

With a 29G and a lionfish and clownfish in there I would be surprised that nitrates are zero. It's a lot of fish and not a lot of water, so, you should be seeing nitrates, unless the algae is using it all up.
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 04:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Wow that is crazy! Are you sure your test kit is ok? I would have your LFS test the nitrates. Have you tested for silicates?
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 04:53 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
I hate to argue when I am looking for help but I don't think a clown the size of a quater and a lion the size of a 50 cent piece is that much of a bio load. I have had these 2 since a bout a month after I set up the tank never had nitrates read more than 5 that was before the algae

I have had 2 lfs test my water comes back good each time. no I haven't tested for silicates maybe I should
__________________
robow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 05:19 PM   #8
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
I doubt silicates are the issue. You sure about that tds reading? how old are your lights? Even then, with old lights.. it needs food..

Hair Algae...Solutions That Don't Require You to Pull Your Hair Out!!! | AquaNerd
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 05:47 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14
I am taking some water to lfs to get checked tonight I will also take some fresh to see what they get for tds. The lights are about 2 months old.
__________________
robow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 06:33 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
I would guess the algae is consuming all your nitrates and phosphates. When you have an algae that grows that quickly it will almost always consume the nutrients before you can see them on the test kits.

How often do you do water changes? I would say do some 25% changes once a week and cut back your lights to 6 hours. I would check in and around your rocks. Some times you will get a dead spot in the rocks and food and other junk will collect there and then leech nutrients back into the system. You may have collected a pile of junk in your rock work that is feeding the algae.
__________________

__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My aquarium is being taken over....by algae!!! crazyeyes Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-24-2005 05:34 PM
Help with Algae in Aquarium bghouse Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 11-10-2004 06:10 PM
Let Algae run its course during cycling? Nate C Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 09-02-2004 01:55 PM
To run or not to run....Protein Skimmer Avi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-13-2004 05:58 AM
Is algae bad for an aquarium RogerMcAllen Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-13-2003 03:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.