Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-22-2013, 04:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Help dosing

Have been dosing my tank for about a month now but all I have in my tank are some zoas and Xzenia should I keep dosing or just stop until I get my candycane coral which is my next coral of choice. Also I need some help understanding the chemistry of my tank I keep my calcium low at about 260 for now. And I still have to buy my alk. Test kit. Then my mag. Kit
__________________

__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:02 PM   #2
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
If your test kit is showing calcium at 260, more than likely the test kit is bad or you are reading the result wrong. It's almost impossible for calcium to get that low in a typical saltwater system.
What exactly are you dosing? Number 1 rule is don't dose anything your not testing for and only dose when testing shows you are low on something.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Ok and it's the API test kit I just tested I wasn't waiting for the test to turn completely blue it's actually at 430 ppm which is good so when I test of my calcium or alk start to drop then dose?
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
With those corals, I wouldn't be dosing at all.... Dosing really isn't a concern until you decide to get into SPS. And if/when you do, get better testing kits than API.... they are nowhere near sensitive enough.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 11:39 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
I already bought the API so that's what I have to stick with for my bday in a couple months I'll get a new better test kit. Ok do no doseing. I'm getting a candycane coral in a few weeks.
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 05:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
So I tested my water and these are the results.
PH 8.0
Amonia-0.25
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate-0

And then my calcium was at 340 befor I dosed and then after I got a lower reading. The API test kit isn't good at all. But I don't have the money for a new one I need it to buy my RODI unit and refugium what should I do?
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 05:56 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 183
i use api all the time you it is difficult to tell between the pink and purple of the colours as it get to be a dark pink b4 turning purple it takes a while to get used to it
__________________
Nosaj81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 05:58 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
It's when it turns blue but it starts to turn after like five drops and calcium can't get that low.
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 05:59 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 1,156
Buy your rodi and don't worry about dosing until you get a few more corals. I have a 55g reef with lps softies and a few sps frags and haven't dosed once since setting the tank up a little over a year ago just weekly water changes of 10 gallons.
__________________
EriksFish315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:14 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Shirtlessbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 334
In all reality you don't need to dose. Not yet anyway. Routine water changes with your salt mix will be plenty. In order to 'have' to dose you need a fully stocked tank with all your colonies being mature. Personally I wouldn't even start yet.
__________________

__________________
Shirtlessbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dosing

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.