Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-15-2014, 12:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Kopitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 100
Help Hair algae ?

Hey guys

My tank has been running for over a year now and i never had a problem before with my water. I noticed in the last 2-3 weeks some sort of brown-green algae accumulating slowly slowly but now its starting to spread everywhere. Can someone tell me what it is on the pictures ? I did more water changes in the last month to try and eliminate it but it didnt help. Iv read on forums that i could bring up the magnesium to 1600 to eliminate hair algae would that help me in my case ?Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1389761528.457911.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	224.0 KB
ID:	216783Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1389761548.540960.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	186.5 KB
ID:	216784Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1389761562.140142.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	206.1 KB
ID:	216785Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1389761588.140259.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	204.6 KB
ID:	216786


My water test
PH 8.0
Ammonia 0.25
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 5.0
Magnesium 1380
Salt 1.025
__________________

__________________
Kopitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 01:32 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Check phosphates. Are you using rodi water for water changes and top off?
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 01:44 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Kopitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 100
I dont have a phosphate test kit...
Yeah i use RODI but i think my filters were due to be changed (1 year)

What can i do beside water change ?
Will magnesium to 1600 help ?
__________________
Kopitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 02:17 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Affordable Aquatic's Avatar




 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 174
You need to test your water, its likely a phosphate issue as stated. You need to check the TDS of the water coming out of your RODI, if you are putting phosphates in when you make up new water no amount of water changes will get rid of it. So get yourself a phosphate test kit or meter, a TDS meter and figure out the water problem.

To get rid of the hair algae, you can pull it off with your fingers or hope the snails and tangs eat it. Ultimately you need to starve it and thats why having perfect water is so important.
__________________
Visit us online at www.AffordableAquatic.com
Affordable Aquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 12:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Kopitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 100
My TDS meter indicates water coming in at 0ppm water comin out at 1ppm

Is that an issue ? I dont get it cause its brand new
__________________
Kopitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 12:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes, you can raise mag to eliminate it, but it has to be the Kent product- Kent Tech-M.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 12:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Affordable Aquatic's Avatar




 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 174
Well that's definitely an issue. While I wouldn't worry much about 1 TDS, what you are saying is that your RODI is actually adding TDS. That would be bad if true, though I doubt it is true. It's highly improbable that you are actually getting 0 TDS from the tap. Your TDS meter is probably faulty. Borrow a meter and recheck it. You might find that your TDS are very high.
__________________
Visit us online at www.AffordableAquatic.com
Affordable Aquatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 12:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I think he means going into the DI, not going into the unit.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 12:37 PM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
FantasyReef Databases-Viewing item "10 Step Plan for Nuisance Algae Control"
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 08:22 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Kopitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 100
Yeah my tds meter that came with my rodi unit / water coming in shows 0 water comin out fluctuates between 0 and 1

Thanks for the help ill try the Kent magnesium liquid
__________________

__________________
Kopitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, algae, hair, hair algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.