Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-28-2006, 05:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Help me make up my mind!

Background info: I am a starving graduate student. it is post-Christmas. I just moved. Summary: I have very little money at the moment. Problem: I have reef-tank-itis. Bad. Very bad. Would like to get some soft corals and mushrooms, nothing more advanced than that.

I currently have a 10g FOWLR with 20 lbs live rock. I also have an empty 30g (36x12x16). My two thoughts are 1) upgrade the lights on the 10g, and get/make/modify a skimmer to fit such a small tank. Cheaper, but limited space, water quality issues etc. 2) Switch to the 30g, upgrade lights, get skimmer, more sand, more LR. More options for fish, corals, better control on water params, but much more $$$.

Given the monetary and tank size limitations, what would you do?

Old 12-28-2006, 05:15 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Well, if you are going to cycle your tank and not use the stuff from your 10G, you have plenty of time to save up some money, while the 30G cycles. You really don't need much for the cycle......

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 05:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak