Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-14-2006, 02:39 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 517
closed loop? lol srry how does that work?
__________________

__________________
sir_dudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 10:06 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
A closed loop has both the inlet and outlet ends submerged in the tank, so once it's primed, you never get any air in the system. This is a very quiet, non-obtrusive way to get more ciculation in your aquarium. Most people get custom drilled tanks for thier closed loops, but you can also do a hang-on-back style one. (Directions at OzReef.org)
__________________

dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 12:02 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 33
I don't mean to hijack this thread, but figured it'd be better to ask then start a new thread.

So let's say I have a 55gal and the head total is 54''.... I don't quite understand how you amount to the head total and get the pump size needed and the hob overflow size....

please help me get a clearer picture and understanding of this.
__________________
sum1serin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 07:03 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by sum1serin
I don't quite understand how you amount to the head total and get the pump size needed and the hob overflow size....
That's a loaded question!

1. What do you want to keep in this tank?
2. Do you want all your water flowing through your sump, or will you have some supplimental ciculation like a closed loop or powerheads? (Closed loop or powerheads is quieter, but more complex.)
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 08:05 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 33
I want to keep more of the soft corals and anenome's.

I figured it was required to have powerheads... but if not, then I'd have it just flow through the sump.

I'm also still debating on a pre drilled aquarium from all-glass or just the HOB overflow...
__________________
sum1serin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 09:38 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vienna, West Virginia
Posts: 219
I think definately spend the extra on the pre drilled.
jmo
__________________
ckmn101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 10:57 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dskidmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Genesee Valley
Posts: 2,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by sum1serin
I'm also still debating on a pre drilled aquarium from all-glass or just the HOB overflow...
If it's in the budget, go for the pre-drilled. You'll greatly reduce your chances of water on the floor, and it simplifies your maintenance. If there's more budget left over, consider a custom drilled aquarium, with holes for a closed loop system.
dskidmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 02:50 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 33
Okay, so I'm going to go with a 75 gallon RR tank with the built in overflow.

The overflow is rated at 600gph-

My sump will be a 20 gal long since that seems to be deemed appropriate size to take into account in case power goes out and tank drains till the stopping point of the overflow.. right? I mean am I correct on a 20 gal long being suitable?

Now, all I need to figure out is what size pump I need to push it back up.. That's what confuses me. The head would only be.... hrm.. about 36" high stand, but then it has to go up to the top of the tank, so then... . 56" right?

Please help. Thank you for what you've already helped with as well.
__________________
sum1serin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 09:22 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I would get something larger then a 20, JMO I would get a 30 long..
A Mag 9.5 would be a good pump, if its too much flow then you can T off and have some water just dump back into the sump
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 12:58 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 33
would the Mag 9.5 also be okay for a 30 long ? I'm not too sure on the whole plumbing thing, so I wouldn't be to knowledgable with the T off.


Plus, I see all these sumps with the plumbing where it has what can only be a shut off valve to close the pipe?
__________________

__________________
sum1serin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breed, breeder, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump Plan Critique jcarlilesiu DIY Projects 7 01-08-2010 02:26 PM
Suggestion for 40 gallon breeder sump MikeWho DIY Projects 7 02-11-2009 07:38 PM
Grand scheme! - sump plan Maximo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-29-2005 04:30 PM
Yet another DIY Sump/Refugium Plan! yanek DIY Projects 1 05-13-2005 08:01 PM
Is this a workable sump/fuge plan? blorkiemom Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 09-19-2004 01:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.