Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-26-2011, 06:37 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: oregon
Posts: 43
I want something tall and narrow. Not a tub. Do they half trash cans that would work or is that what you meant?
__________________

__________________
cichlidmania26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 06:39 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
That is what I meant a rubbermaid trash can. That is what I use. Simple and get the ones with wheels, makes it easy to move around

$30 bucks and no more washing or rinsing or kool aid or bleach or any of it lol

Have you tried hot water a vinegar yet?
__________________

__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 06:45 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: oregon
Posts: 43
I see there is hope for me lol. Ok ill do that. Maybe I ll use it as a sand filter for my freshwater system. Yes I did try vinger. No luck. But I still havnt done my test.
__________________
cichlidmania26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 06:50 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 349
Ya just grab a new garbage pale

best thing to use for collecting ro water and auto top offs

i just drilled a hole big enough for my ro hose to fit in the top of the pale, and let if fill up. usually takes about 8-9 hours for my garbage pale to completely fill

that is using cold water (we dont get chared for cold water usage where i live) so why pay for hot water if i dont need to... sure the psi is only at about 35 (60 ideal) but its free
__________________
120 Gallon Reef

***Pics now on profile***
rush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 06:53 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: oregon
Posts: 43
Thanks bro
__________________
cichlidmania26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 01:29 AM   #26
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Get aRubbermade BRUTE trash can. All BRUTE products are 'food grade' for human consumption. I use a 45 gallon BRUTE can to hold my top off water.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 08:33 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: small town usa
Posts: 89
Where do u get a brute trash can
__________________
Carson24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 09:53 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
Home depot.

You cannot clean a used container. Period. Even with pressure washing. If you get lucky, you can get a pepper or pickle barrel. But koolaid smaell means that it was probably for corn syrup. That really shouldn't be bad for a tank. I would be like carbon dosing. 44ppm isn't the problem, its the 44 ppm of what.
I freaked last week. RO, the tds meter read 12. Post DI it was reading 30 something. Aaaahhh! Then I remembered that I put a pump from the sw barrel into the RODI. LOL
__________________
Fishless cycling
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 12:55 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabezon View Post
...RO, the tds meter read 12. Post DI it was reading 30 something. Aaaahhh! Then I remembered that I put a pump from the sw barrel into the RODI. LOL
The salty pump would definitely do it, but you might double check your DI output before it goes in the barrel. When DI resin is depleted, it can actually release stuff back in to the water. So if your DI resin is shot, it's totally possible that your water coming out of the resin is worse than the water coming in to it.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 10:44 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
That's what I was worried about. The output is attached to a float so it was hard to get a sample. It was lower but still not 0. I think the whole bin is contaminated (with ok suff)

It's color change resin and there is no change. I was worried it was tunneling. But I think it is OK.

@Rush. You wouldn't want to use hot water anyway. It will destroy the membrane. You might want to look into a pump that will bring the pressure up, you will make more water with less waste.
__________________

__________________
Fishless cycling
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro water, weir

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird question on water celeste Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 03-22-2006 10:02 PM
Weird looking water Fishyfanatic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 08-26-2005 07:13 PM
weird water problems spongeynip Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 02-06-2005 09:58 PM
weird water parameters.... help again! blipblop Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 08-16-2004 04:08 PM
*WEIRD* water parameters.. help! blipblop Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 07-13-2004 11:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.