Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 09-01-2003, 08:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
Help! Noive needs advice with Algae problem

Hi there - I am a novice at this. I have a 72 gal marine aquarium that has been set up for over 6 months now. I was doing fine until recently. I have an out of control algae problem. Not sure what kind it is but it grows in huge green thick patches on the sand, rocks, and glass sides of the tank. The algae on the glass also has some more brownish stuff as well as the green.

My tank is kept at 81 degrees and has lights on for about 14 hours a day. It has a protein skimmer, UV, 2 powerheads, and heaters. The stock is about six fish (lion fish, trigger, paddle fins) and some live rock (although I'm not sure it is alive anymore.)

Any advice on where to begin correcting this problem. I have tried scrubbing all the algae away and changing 30% of the water but it grows back within a week.

The fish are fine - they show no signs of ill health. I would appreciate any help and can provide more info to help diagnose the problem.

B. Sugam - San Fran

benjamin_sf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2003, 09:08 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I would make sure the water params are where they should be and change photoperiod back to 6 or 7 hours for now. Use a very hungry cleanup crew and RO/DI water. Probably lower the temp to 76-78.

roho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:35 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
I'd say the 14 hour light period is the culprit here.
- Gauge

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5