help- plumbing!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nodoubt471

Aquarium Advice Freak
so im looking into finially putting a sump into my 46 gallon corner tank. since the tank is already established, i dont want to drill or anything (plus this is my first attempt at plumbing) so um... how would you suggest i do it? im a total beginner at this whole plumbing thing. how high should the gph/ tank turnover be? i read that it should be 6-10x the tank volume per hour- so 270-460 gph? is that correct?

also what should the rating of the return pump be? what exactically is a "closed loop"? sorry for all the questions, im so clueless.

so i was planning on having the sump be just like a 20 or so, nothing huge, just someweheer to throw the skimmer and heaters and stuff and increase circulation. sorry but im so clueless here, ive been reading around but im just having a lot of trouble understanding everything. TIA!!!

Size your pump based on the Overflow you buy. I assume since you are not drilling, you will add a HOB overflow. For a 46, I would guess a mag 5 or 7 would be ok unless you want alot of flow. Mast overflows will handle those pumps easily. Could go bigger though.

Closed loop does not use a sump. It just uses a big pump tp circulate like a PH.

thanks for the reply ellisz, so i guess closed loop is not what im looking for.

ok so do i have to match the gph of the overflow exactly to the gph of the return pump? accounting for head pressure or not?

what about power outages and an overflow- how would i tell it to shut off if i loose power so it doesnt flood everywhere?