Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-25-2011, 08:38 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Well it seems you got the answers you needed.

The pump does indeed go into the last chamber. I disagree on adding sand though, I think his fuge area is perfectly large enough for sand.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 08:42 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KSum89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 280
Send a message via Skype™ to KSum89
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
Well it seems you got the answers you needed.

The pump does indeed go into the last chamber. I disagree on adding sand though, I think his fuge area is perfectly large enough for sand.
I Hope so
__________________

__________________
KSum89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 08:43 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
Well it seems you got the answers you needed.

The pump does indeed go into the last chamber. I disagree on adding sand though, I think his fuge area is perfectly large enough for sand.
yea i agree i say go for it put some sand in
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 08:48 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KSum89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 280
Send a message via Skype™ to KSum89
Ok so do i buy some new sand and just dump it in there or do i buy some and and use some of my used sand to seed it with.
__________________
KSum89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 08:49 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
nah you can just guy some sand it will become live over time
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 08:50 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
me, I bought a bag of plain ole sand at petco. 10lb bag for mine was good plus some of the sand I had in my pod tank. But my refugium area is larger than yours so you won't need as much I wouldnt think.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 08:50 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KSum89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 280
Send a message via Skype™ to KSum89
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackteck
nah you can just guy some sand it will become live over time
Ok thanks everyone
__________________
KSum89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 08:54 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
if you're not going to put a DSB in your fuge then theres no point to puttign sand in it. as far as the use of a DSB, if its smaller then 36x12 then its kind of pointless to use, you might as well go DSB in your main display tank and leave the fuge with just chaeto and rubble, it will be less cost and less of a nitrate factory, although the chaeto will end up suckign up the nitrates, so it comes down to the cost, its just an added expense to use sand.
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:13 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
KSum89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 280
Send a message via Skype™ to KSum89
Can pods live without substrate?
__________________
KSum89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 09:16 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
yes, they can live in the chaeto and the rock
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
refugium, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.