Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-26-2004, 04:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MA
Posts: 40
HELP Using the Hydrometer

I'm in the process of mixing my salt and have an Instant Ocean Hydrometer. I would assume that when the water w/o is in the hydrometer that the reading would be at 0 salinity, but for some reason it's reading at 40PPT, what am I doing wrong??
__________________

__________________
gregp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 04:07 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
Have you used this hydrometer in salt water before. If not rinsed with freshwater after use some salt can buildup on the arm and be mixing with your new sample. You might also check for air bubbles on the arm making it rise. Give it a couple of taps to see if it goes down. Hope it is one of these easy fixes
__________________

__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 04:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 248
Send a message via AIM to JohnNLuc
Your regular water source is readin 40PPT without any salt? If so this could be a buildup in the hydrometer itsself. Fill it with vinegar and let it sit overnight see if this helps if not your hydrometer is not calibrated correctly which is very common. IMO if you are serious about this hobby a swing arm is not the best way to be going you should try a refractometer which are fairly cheap and are there weight in gold when measuring salinity HTH
JohnNLuc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 04:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 414
If it is new it is probably bubbles on the float. I had that problem too and bought a refractometer and it is great.
__________________
tmcpeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 05:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 243
Send a message via AIM to aquafreak Send a message via MSN to aquafreak Send a message via Yahoo to aquafreak
Do you always dip a hydrometer near the surface or about midway under the water? I'm curious on how to get the most accurate reading.
__________________
aquafreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2004, 07:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Rocky Mount VA
Posts: 943
You do not want a surface sample. Approx. 6 inches down is what I do. That is probably instilled in me from my 1st hydrometer(deep six) which states that is the best depth. That deep six also talked about seasoning the tester by adding salt water and letting it sit full for 24hrs. Not sure what the affect is if you dont season the hydrometer or if your brand recommends this procedure.
__________________
Vote for AquariumAdvice

28gal bowfront
40lbs livesand(bag from LFS), 30lbs live rock(LR.com)
2 O. Clowns
1 peppermint shrimp, 5 red leg hermit crabs,
4 mexican turbo snails, 15 nassarius snails
ricordea mushroom, candy cane coral,
super color polyps, hairy mushrooms
bubble coral, hawiian feather duster
coralife lunar 2x65, HOT magnum canister
10 Gal refugium(chaeto) & seaclone skimmer
RMPD109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2004, 11:46 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
refractometer...its the only way to go IMO
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydrometer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hydrometer jjwin98 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 02-13-2007 11:44 AM
do i need a hydrometer? dramsfan Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 15 07-18-2006 05:05 PM
How to use hydrometer jmeunier Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 10-11-2005 04:02 PM
hydrometer brndfrb Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 11-30-2003 09:41 PM
Hydrometer cal91666 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-09-2003 10:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.