Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-05-2006, 03:00 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 257
Send a message via MSN to DeathWarp
Here it goes!

Well, I have a 65gal salt aquarium which has been up for a while now. The guy at the LFS had told me when setting up my tank that CC is your best and safest idea for substrate and that aragonite/sand was a bad idea blah blah blah. Well; after doing some searching on here because I for some reason decided to look it up; I see that the sand is a much safer bet. So after spending a crap load of money on that CC, i've decided im going to attempt a substrate change. Thankfully to those who has posted topics about how do to it; I began my trek tonight. I changed about 1/4 of it and kept a little space dividing the old from the new. By putting the sand in a bucket and running water into the bucket i've seemed to keep the coudiness to a minimum. Please keep me in your prayers; I'm truely hoping this comes out for the better.

(I truely love the look of the sand over the CC)
__________________

__________________
I Am The End.
DeathWarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 09:27 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Something else you could try is to use a piece of pvc pipe and pour the sand in through it. This gives you control of where the sand goes and will minimize your sandstorm/cloudiness. Good luck.
__________________

__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 02:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 257
Send a message via MSN to DeathWarp
Good Idea, I never through of that. I was using a sort of large cup with a lid on it to try and avoid the cloudiness but it didnt work 100%.
__________________
I Am The End.
DeathWarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 06:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pullman, WA
Posts: 21
Send a message via MSN to cordodor
Deathwarp, I'm in the same boat. What kind of sand did you use? Where did you get it?


For anyone else... My FOWLR tank has been up and running w/ a CC substrate for a year now... Will the introduction of a Live Sand/play sand mix benefit me at all or should I just go with Play sand and let the creatures just move in?

Also, what's the difference/benefit of aragonite vs. "normal" sand? TIA
__________________
cordodor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 06:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarineFlake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
Not just any sand will do. If it contains silicates it can cause problems. There are others that can respond as to what and where. I personally just gave in and bought x number of bags from Petco of the ls they sell. Worked great on my 10g and 29g.

Peace.
__________________
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 03:00 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 257
Send a message via MSN to DeathWarp
I using Aragonate acctually. Luckly my tank has only been running for a few months so the only real pain in the butt Im having is moving all the darn rocks around. I've heard ups and downs about Aragonite but i'll still saying its a safer bet than my CC anyways.
__________________
I Am The End.
DeathWarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 11:49 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BFE North carolina
Posts: 472
Sand that has silicates in it just won't buffer. It won't cause any problems otherwise our glass on the walls of the tank would cause algae b/c all they are are silicates.
__________________
Scottm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 01:29 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 300
I would bet (someone please correct) that your glass walls don't leak silicates into the water like a silicate-based sandbed would.
__________________

__________________
demodiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.