Hi! - few things I want to confirm/ask

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mulron

Aquarium Advice Activist
First hello, first post here. I have read a lot of the forums here and gathered a lot of information on reefs. I am not new to SW/fresh tanks but I am relatively new to reefs so; here's my questions.

Purposed tank:
125gal
2 55gal sumps
4bulb 78" VHO lighting system
Probably a Berlin Skimmer

1) I know it is 1.5lbs of LR per gal. Does that include the water in the sump? I see people with sumps but it doesn't look like the tank+sump = the amount of LR that I come up with.

2) Lighting? back when I had my tanks up and running MH was brand new. VHO was really the only way to go. I know you would still need either VHO or PC for the atinics side of things but is MH really worth it? I'm leaning towards the a total VHO system just because that's what I am accustom to. There is a nice discussion about lighting but the more I look I see a ton of people with MH systems. Why choose MH over VHO? cost? Do they grow some algae quicker/better? Just "cliff notes" pls

3) Also does anyone have a english to acronym dictionary for fish keeping? I can guess most things because of my knowledge but I know newer folks might have a hard time following advice or threads because they just don't know what a LFS,LR,LS are.(local fish store,Live rock,Live sand)

TIA

1) I know it is 1.5lbs of LR per gal. Does that include the water in the sump? I see people with sumps but it doesn't look like the tank+sump = the amount of LR that I come up with.

Usually its more along the line of the main display tank.