Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-05-2004, 04:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: LC
Posts: 33
High Nitrate Level .... please advise

I moved my tank about 4 months ago keeping all the water, rock, and sand. I recently checked my parameters and everything is up to par with the exception of my Nitrates. They are off the charts.. bright red from my kit which would indicate 90+ppm.

I have a CPR Bakpak with no media in it, Aquaclear 500 with no media in it, 60lbs live rock, and 50lbs cc. I sold my Puffer and Eel recently and only have 3 Chromis in the tank.

I'm planning on doing 20% water changes and cutting back on feeding but was wondering if there is anything else I can do to reduce my nitrates..... Like adding some media or something to the skimmer or aquaclear.
__________________

__________________
tomas21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 04:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
IME, the fastest way to reduce Nitrate is through water changes, and cutting back on feeding a little.

Mike
__________________

__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 08:29 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
Vaccum your CC very often, you probably have a bunch of gunk buried in it.
__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 08:35 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Ya what indy said..... CC is a known NO3 producer.... trapped food, waste.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 12:39 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: LC
Posts: 33
Has anyone tried a product called AZ-NO3 Nitrate Reducer
__________________
tomas21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 05:41 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
It may or may not work, but you're better off fixing the source of the problem rather than adding more chemicals to the tank. If nothing else it will save you money.
__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 10:11 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
What are you using for your water changes, tap or RO/DI water? That can make a huge difference. Most tap water water contains high levels of nitrates and posphates. Also, cut way back on the feedings. Once every two or three days. Vac the CC as mentioned and look into getting more LR in the future. Nitrates are very hard to eliminate completely but you should be able to get them down to a more acceptable level. Good Luck...Lando
__________________
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2004, 11:38 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: LC
Posts: 33
I'm getting my RO/DI from one of those vending machines outside Vons. I was going to test the water this week to see if that is the source of the problem. If it is where else do you recommend I get my water? My apt has no room for the RO/DI system.
__________________
tomas21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 01:44 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Stockton Ca
Posts: 232
I had the same problem with my tank also. Ive got a 50 gal tank with the aquaclear 500 with CC in it. Started using RO/DI water, I replaced the CC with LS, bought a skimmer, put in Phos-X filter media and did a 5 gal water change once a week. Now both my nitrate and nitrite levels are always in the 0 to .25 range. becareful if you decide to replace the CC with LS because you need to do it over time. yeah it got expensive but I am extremely happy with the results. just keep researching differant ideas on the site, and you too, will be happy with the results Good luck man
__________________
PiscesLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 12:24 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: LC
Posts: 33
PiscesLou,
So do you have CC or LS in your aquaclear 500 now? Do you have any links on what I need to do to my aq500?
__________________

__________________
tomas21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high nitrate, level, nitrate, nitrate level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is a good nitrate level? beano1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 11-01-2006 01:56 PM
Nitrate level AirRazr Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-05-2004 11:48 PM
high Nitrate level -- clarification, please EBR Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-21-2004 03:09 PM
What's an appropriate Nitrate level? johncake Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 08-20-2003 05:23 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.