Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-18-2009, 02:47 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
The skimmer does remove DOC's. Dissolved organic compounds).

Yeah which reduces nitrates right? and also would come from turning and cleaning the sand bed? I hope I am correct in that theory?
__________________

__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 05:23 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Yes that should do it. The last 20 is always the hardest. I looked back at your first post and that full tank shot sure doen't look like a 2 yr old tank. You don't have any coralline in the tank either.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 05:27 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
very little coralline which is because my calcium levels were down to 280 for awhile, which I have brought it up to 400. So hopefully it will start growing soon
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 06:09 PM   #44
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
IMO I would stop stiring up the sandbed. Let your clean up crew do that. I`ve not stirred or cleaned my sandbed in the 4 yrs I have had this 125. It`s really not necessary IMO.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 06:21 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
I was really doing more vaccuming than stirring. Are you saying that you would stop that? or just stop stirring?
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 06:52 PM   #46
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Continue to vacuum the substrate, but no need to penetrate more than 1" into the substrate. If you have corals you can stir the substrate as this is also another acceptable means of feeding them. You are not doing any harm by doing so.
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 09:17 PM   #47
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I`ve never vacuumed or stirred my substrate. I let my gobies take care of that. As I said your CUC will take care of that. Just my experience.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 07:30 PM   #48
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Just got home from work was looking at my tank and I am already starting too see more purple coralline. OH YEAH!
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:44 PM   #49
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Good sign. Great job!
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 08:52 PM   #50
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
I still want to add a little more live rock. I was thinking about getting 40lbs of Caribsea South Seas Base Rock I was wondering since I really don't have anything in the tank but the starfish (which I am going to take to LFS for a credit since it will eat the reef) and just let it cycle in the tank. Would it really be a big spike since I already have about 55lbs of live rock and a 3-4" DSB? Would it be high enough to kill the 3 or 4 hermit crabs I have? I was also looking at making my own live rock which I posted a thread question about. But, looking at its cheap Caribsea South Seas Base Rock enough.I may not even use all the 40lbs was thinking of just using 25lbs of it. The other thing I thought about was adding a piece every few weeks for awhile maybe?
__________________

__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high nitrate, nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Help my Nitrate is high amskater Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 23 04-21-2006 04:39 PM
High Nitrate? gilly Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 02-16-2005 01:54 AM
how high can nitrate go philc21 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 06-17-2004 04:26 PM
High Nitrate Help ChrisJackie Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 04-10-2004 02:10 PM
High nitrate Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-14-2003 08:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.