Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-06-2012, 04:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DanRamirez57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: boise
Posts: 307
High Nitrates!!!

So I've had this tank for a few months and I can't seem to get nitrates under control. I've done major cleanings and water changes. I clean my canister filter weekly I've done everything I can think of and still get high nitrates while everything else reads good. My only guess is that it's the crushed coral substrate that is the problem. Would I be able to remove all crushed coral and have a bare bottom tank without starting another cycle?
__________________

__________________
DanRamirez57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
What test kit are you using? How high? How long has the tank been up? IMO you could remove the coral and everything should be fine.make sure that's the cause.
__________________

__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DanRamirez57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: boise
Posts: 307
All I have is my API but I take water samples to my LFS and they check it there as well. It was set up for 2 years when I got it and I've had it maybe 3 months now. I just finished building a sump but I'm going to wait for a little while to install it as I have to drill and paint the tank so I'm hoping that will help too!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-924924675.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	149.1 KB
ID:	130135  
__________________
DanRamirez57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
You don't need to drill the tank. I certainly wouldn't drill if it's already set up. You would need to remove everything. Just get a hob overflow.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DanRamirez57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: boise
Posts: 307
I m going to have to remove everything for paint anyways and I think they look better drilled
__________________
DanRamirez57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:44 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
You can't see an hob overflow if the back is painted. But if you crack the glass your screwed. All your fish and coral are gone.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:55 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lunchbox209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: stockton CA
Posts: 397
Are you using tap water for the water changes?

And what does your stock include
__________________
Lunchbox209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Daniel Fishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Jupiter Fla
Posts: 1,178
All I have is API my nitrates read high. I do weekly water changes set up a refigium two weeks ago well see. I believe API reads high I think they read total nitrates I read on here to divide by 4 your results. Idk if that's true. I have a hob oflow works great.Didnt want to drill older tank and stocked.
__________________
Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:50 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Are you using RO/DI water?
__________________
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 09:19 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DanRamirez57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: boise
Posts: 307
I am using RODI water and my stock list has a clown fish a six line wrasse and 2 damsel fish. Also have some coral about 50lbs of live rock but I just bought 35 lbs of dry rock to add. A cleaner shrimp and misc crabs and snails
__________________

__________________
DanRamirez57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high nitrate, high nitrates, nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.