Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2013, 05:23 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
billyblu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
High nitrates

I have a 300 L salt water reef tank, had it going about 6 months(with no problems), had a fresh water tank before. About a month ago we had a new carpet laid so had to move my tank, since then I can't get a balance with anything, I've tryed prime, water changes every other day and now I'm adding red sea biological nitrate and phosphate reducer also says on box, no3 : po4-x as recommend by my local salt water fish shop south west marines, with not much success, anyone have any ideas of what I can do I no why the problem started but can't se to end it. Luckily I haven't lost any fish yet but I no it's just a matter of time,
Thanks
__________________

__________________
billyblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:10 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Need more info on your inhabitants and water parameter to help analyze the problem. How high is nitrate? Did you completely replace the water after moving the tank?
__________________

__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 06:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
billyblu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
Need more info on your inhabitants and water parameter to help analyze the problem. How high is nitrate? Did you completely replace the water after moving the tank?
I ended up having to do about a 50/ water change after the move
My nitrate is reading as high as the test is going and my phosphate was reading at 5 in the first week but now is at 0.1 I can't give u any other readings because I haven't got the tests,
I have all soft corals and 2 bubble tips some clowns, blue green cromeses ,tangs ,fire fish and standard clean up crew ill be going down the shop in the next fue days so will be able to give full new test results on everything soon but hope this helps for now
Thanks
__________________
billyblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 08:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bectan01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 1,930
While you are there you should really pick up some liquid test kits of your own so you can monitor your water. How long has the tank been up again? What is your maintenance schedule?
__________________
Bectan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Did you lost any of your CUCs in the tank after the move?
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 03:02 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Flyingbulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 74
Have you cleaned your sump?
__________________
Flyingbulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 06:33 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
billyblu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bectan01 View Post
While you are there you should really pick up some liquid test kits of your own so you can monitor your water. How long has the tank been up again? What is your maintenance schedule?
Since January 2nd,
__________________
billyblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 06:35 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
billyblu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
Did you lost any of your CUCs in the tank after the move?
Not as far as I no and I have brought more since only a fue hermits and snails, but I can still see lots of what before the move
__________________
billyblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 06:38 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
billyblu1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyingbulldog View Post
Have you cleaned your sump?
Unfortunately I don't have one but I do have about a 20l external filter and I have had that apart a lot to add and remove carbon, phosphate down ect
__________________
billyblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 03:06 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Flyingbulldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 74
I believe u need a sump?
__________________

__________________
Flyingbulldog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.