High Nitrates...need help!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kalani

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum. I've had my tank cycling for about a month and a half. I have about 10 fish in my 55g and I do a water change about once a week. I can't seem to lower my nitrates. The test kit shows 20ppm everytime. Someone said that over time, nitrates will disapear, is that true? Your input is greatly appreciated.

Aloha from Hawaii

Welcome to AA.

Need a few more pieces of information to give you a good answer. What kind of filtration are you using? Is there a protein skimmer? What kind/depth of substrate? What type of fish are in the tank? What else is in the tank? (rock etc) What are your other water tests like? What is the nitrate of your replacement water?

Having said that, with 10 fish in a 55gal, your system is very overstocked and you will likely never see nitrates lower than 20. And only the weekly water changes are keeping them that low. Your aquarium is *likely* done cycling, but only testing the other water parameters will let you know for sure. Depending on your filtration setup, nitrates will probably never dissapear on their own. With a good refugium and/or a protein skimmer you can get nitrate to 0. But it seems to be the most difficult waste to get rid of, and raises in proportion to bioload and feeding. Ammonia and nitrite both should be 0 on a cycled aquarium, with only rare rises above 0.

gl

indy said:
Ammonia and nitrate both should be 0 on a cycled aquarium, with only rare rises above 0.
Typo? Should be ammonia and nitrite.

I have just setup a Amiracle wet/dry sump and a skimmer attached inside the sump. I'm also running a Emperor 400 and a undergravel filter as well. The fish I have are...

3 yellowtail Damsels
2 False Perculas
2 Convict Tangs
1 Naso Tang
1 Golden Trevally