Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-07-2015, 12:23 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Masoniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 606
I used new sand and new dry rock. I guess I'm going to change 20 gallons once a day or twice a day everyday till they are at a acceptable range.
__________________

__________________
Masoniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 12:40 PM   #12
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,534
Once a day will work. Just keep at it. I'm in a similar boat, just can't detect the nitrates because of how much algae growth occurred. Just be thankfull you don't have any of the red turf, cotton candy, or other invasive red 'nuisance' algaes.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 01:59 PM   #13
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masoniac View Post
I used new sand and new dry rock. I guess I'm going to change 20 gallons once a day or twice a day everyday till they are at a acceptable range.
after reading your tread back and forth trying to ex-orb it all in
than I come to this quote you stated .

using new base rock and sand is all good , but after you said you added water from the old tank than added fish I had to stop and scratch my head,

first I must think you carried over trates from the old tank via the water

now looking at it again new rock and sand added water than fish
adding water from a old tank don't make it automatically cycle instantly if at all

I hate to be the bearer of bad news but your tank never cycled

I came to this conclusion from process of elimination from all the above posts

I would take your fish to a pet store to hold for you or if you have a friend local who can hold them for you

after you do that get a nice size deli shrimp put it in a ladys stocking and let it float in the tank till it starts to decompose and you see ammonia of 4 ppm than you can remove it ,
this will begin the cycle you never did
this article will help you through it step by step many of us here used this to start
Cycle your salt tank - Aquarium Advice
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 02:45 PM   #14
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
That article seems too short. It doesn't say anything about nitrAtes and water changes before adding fish.....hmmmmm.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 02:51 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Masoniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 606
My tank did cycle. My ammonia and nitrites were high I did 20 gallon water changes everyday for a week to make sure fish were okay. My nitrates have never been this high ever not even when the tank was cycling.
__________________
Masoniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 06:57 PM   #16
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Orange County
Posts: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anovack View Post
Throw a big bag of chemipure elite in there...can't promise it will do anything but might help between water changes.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

CPE resins do not work in Seawater. Good product for freshwater though..

To the OP: Why are your nitrates a problem currently? Are you battling algae? I wouldn't be taking much concern
__________________
Reefer James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 07:22 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Masoniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 606
No algae, I just hate when my trates get above 20. I'm just curious as to why they haven't came down after I've changed 40 gallons
__________________
Masoniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 07:26 PM   #18
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masoniac View Post
My tank did cycle. My ammonia and nitrites were high I did 20 gallon water changes everyday for a week to make sure fish were okay. My nitrates have never been this high ever not even when the tank was cycling.
you changed 20g per day while it was supposed to cycle you never gave beneficial bacteria to a chance to build 20g water changes daily during your cycle stalled your cycle , you removed your ammonia source with every 1 of those water changes ,
the more you say about your cycle leads me to the same answer
I'll say it again that tank isn't cycled
the nitrates you see were carried over
I'm not trying to say you didn't attempt to cycle the way you did it was incorrect , it stopped your cycle as if it never happen , taking the fuel needed to build bacteria can be compared to gas in your car when there's no gas your car stops
I hope I explained it simple enough for you to understand .
I'm not here to miss lead you I want to see you succeed , the start of a new tank is crucial and needs to be done correctly otherwise your just wasting your time and stressing your fish , the saltwater hobby isn't cheap be glad the mistake was caught before you spent lots of money
remember I was there once upon a time
__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 07:45 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Masoniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 606
That's the thing I know better. I know what I'm doing this is like my 4th tank. Idk why I didnt think of changing all that water never let it cycle properly. So I've never done a fish in cycle could I get some insight on that because I will never be able to catch my coral beauty, or the mccoskers wrasse.
__________________
Masoniac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 10:06 PM   #20
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,524
the reason you didn't get a fish in cycle is because it's a big tank , feeding 2 fish don't take much and I'm assuming you fed flakes or pellets that small amount of food you fed wasn't enough to light the fire , now if you decided to do a fish in I don't think your coral beauty will make it as they as they are very sensitive to big swings ,

the mccoskers wrasse that's a fancy wrasse with the big dorsal fins right ,
I know some wrasses are hardy and tough they would probably make it through a cycle ,
but some wrasses aren't as hardy thats were I'm not sure , but as I believe the mccoskers wrasse would fit into this category,
I think it would be a risk I wouldn't want to take, now if it were a coris wrasse for example those guys would survive about everything,

heres a suggestion if you have a ten gallon tank pick up maybe 2 or 3 pieces of live rock thats already cured around 2 or 3 lbs each , put them in the small tank and that tank would be ready for your 2 fish just add a power head as the beneficial bacteria is already established on rock just keep it wet till you get it home,
than after the 75 cycles you can add those 3 rocks to your tank along with the fish,

another FYI I never doubted your experience we are all human and sometimes we just overlook things as we are stoked to get things up and running,
I learned over the years rushing never pays, things that can take a hour I take 3 , another reason I do that is I'm getting old and I get brain farts too.
so don't sweat it things will get better, I'm sure you will have a nice tank sometime in the near future and I look forward to seeing it,
__________________

__________________
Save
54seaweed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PH & Ni-TRATES High wetfishies Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 01-08-2015 07:08 AM
High trates and trites Calebsanders Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 04-17-2013 06:09 PM
Overflow sponge could cause trates? daney90 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 09-30-2012 11:38 AM
Anenome Died -Spike in Nitrates/Trates- What to do? bootz Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 18 09-01-2011 12:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.