Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-13-2013, 11:28 AM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North carolina
Posts: 2,783
Hos to get rid of chloramines?

I am planning on getting a BRS 4 stage RODI system soon and the people at the lfs say it does not have a chloramine filter in it. Isnt that what the pre filter does though? Cant i just use a water conditioner to eliminate them?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Fishman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 11:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
The RO filter will remove chloramines.
__________________

__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 12:10 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North carolina
Posts: 2,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezy33 View Post
The RO filter will remove chloramines.
Ok thanks!
__________________
Fishman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 05:21 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezy33
The RO filter will remove chloramines.
Not entirely true. BRS has their "standard" units, then they have their chloramines units. They also have chloramines filter upgrade kits. So just keep an eye on what youre purchasing.
http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/brs-5-...tem-75gpd.html
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:27 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma View Post
Not entirely true. BRS has their "standard" units, then they have their chloramines units. They also have chloramines filter upgrade kits. So just keep an eye on what youre purchasing.
BRS 5 Stage Chloramines PLUS RO/DI System - 75GPD - Bulk Reef Supply
Before dropping the extra money on the kit, ask your local water department if they use chloramines to treat your water. If your water department phone monkeys are the same as mine, you'll be answered with "uuuuuuuuuuuuuh...lemme call you back", and they never will.

Check the water quality report if you want a definitive answer, as they are usually required to specify what they treat your water with.

The LFS was probably just trying to upsell you one of their more costly units.
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 10:38 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
Assuming your water contains Chloramines then yes you can use a water conditioner to take care of them.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 11:06 AM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North carolina
Posts: 2,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
Assuming your water contains Chloramines then yes you can use a water conditioner to take care of them.
Yeah my water does, thanks. Is any conditioner good? Stress coat?
__________________
Fishman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 11:09 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
I would use prime over anything else.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 11:13 AM   #9
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North carolina
Posts: 2,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post
I would use prime over anything else.
Ok thanks, who makes it?
__________________
Fishman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 11:13 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishman007 View Post
Yeah my water does, thanks. Is any conditioner good? Stress coat?
Stress coat is acceptable for FW but when we are trying for 0 TDS stress coat and many other conditioners actually makes municipal water worse .
__________________

__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.