Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-01-2003, 10:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Crystal Minnesota
Posts: 388
How do I change the sand bed?

I have crushed coral in my tank and I have had problems with nitrates being high. Do you think it would be easier to change to aragonite the size of sugar or should I just get some sort of snails to do the work for me? I don't really like the look of the crushed coral, I didn't buy it myself by the way. If I do change from CC to aragonite, will it change the chemistry of my water a lot?? How would I go about changing it?? Will it be better at filtering when it is smaller? Any help would be great.

Thanks,
Josh
__________________

__________________
Joshsmit56001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2003, 10:39 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Norcal
Posts: 438
go to the articles section and at the bottom in General Info theres an article on changing out your substrate.
__________________

__________________
I never thought you would, but always knew you could.
biotoxin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2003, 10:40 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showqu...q=2&fldAuto=27
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 05:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Crystal Minnesota
Posts: 388
I read somewhere that you can use a pair of pantyhose and place the sand in there and the bacteria will come out of the old substrate and into the new through the panthoise. Is this true??

Thanks,
Josh
__________________
Joshsmit56001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 10:35 PM   #5
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshsmit56001
Is this true??
Yes, it allows the bacteria and some smaller types of the fauna to migrate to the new sandbed. If swapping CC out to replace with sand, you can also use cheese clothe which will allow for even larger types of fauna to colonize the new sanbed.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, sand, sand bed

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sand Bed MCluett Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 17 08-14-2008 02:52 PM
Barebottom substrate or 1/2 -1" sand non-deep sand bed? luckycat Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 04-12-2005 05:52 PM
Deep Sand Bed?? Or just sand bed??? Utradeshow Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-29-2004 05:46 PM
Sand Bed Kiko Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-31-2004 12:00 AM
what exactly is a sand bed? aquarium Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 10-12-2004 08:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.