How do i convert a FOWLR to reef?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TomStav

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I have a 75G (+30G sump) FOLR that has been running for a few years and would like to start adding corals.

All of my livestock are reef safe.

I have no experience with corals and would like to learn the basics before I buy any. I plan on buying a calcium and phosphate test kit and have a few questions....

> should I gradually raise my SG from 1.022 to 1.025? If so are there any negative consequences?

> what is the ideal water temp? Currently I set it to 80*

> are there specific additives that I should consider?

> what can my current lights handle (I plan on upgrading them in a year or so when I can afford too) I have x2 10000K and x2 actinic (all 65W).

> what corals would you recommend for this set up?

> Any additional tips would be great!

Thanks,

Tom
Sent from my iPad using Aquarium

Lights first. Either T5's, probably 6 over a 75gal would be good.

Temp should be 78 or so.

Salinity can be gradually raised to 1.025 over the course if a week. Google calculators, they're out there.

As far as additives, that depends on what you want to keep. Soft and LPS are generally easy to keep without the addition of too many additives. You'll need to monitor calcium, iodine, magnesium, KH and alkalinity.

If you want to keep SPS, hard corals, that's a whole different ballgame. Some folks swear by metal halides as the only thing capable of success for SPS.

What are your plans?

Thanks for the quick reply!

I have no real plans of yet... I am happy with my FOLR and was planning on getting into corals in a year or two but as soon as I found a little palythoa hitchhiker in my tank I have been urged to get in to it sooner.