Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-07-2006, 01:02 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: california
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to reefmaster
how do i make a sump for 100 gallon

hey all, im finally getting a new tank! whooo!!!!! My parents are getting me a 100 gallon reef tank and i currently have a 30 reef tank. Lol, they are getting me this becasue i am graduating onto highschool. I dont think its a big deal, but getting the free aquarium is sweet . I was wondering if i could convert my 30 gallon into a sump for my 100 gallon. How much would it cost to get a 100 gallon? $1500? Its hard finding parts for the 100 gallon on the internet. I might sell my left over stuff on ebay or give it to someone who wants to start a 30 gallon.

cya.
rick
__________________

__________________
reefmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 01:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to FishFrik
Give ur stuff to me!!! XD I have a 30G heh :P

I was looking at setting up a 72G Oceanic. The guy at the LFS said it would cost around $1200 for starting with light/sump/fuge/auto top off/sand/etc. but without any fish or inverts. I think 1500 would be reasonable for a 100G. Congratz on ur new 100G! Man i wish my parents would do that to me lol
__________________

__________________
I'm one of those fishnutz, who are actually nutz.
FishFrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 01:26 AM   #3
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
I was wondering if i could convert my 30 gallon into a sump for my 100 gallon.
You can use your 30 gal for a sump. I converted one for my 210 and it worked great. I had to get some lexan from the lhs, cut it to the right dimensions and silicone it to the aquarium. The hard part was finding the pvc bulkheads to connect the drain hose from the overflow to the sump. I've later noticed that marine stores carries and over abundance of these pvc fittings that would work great. A 30 gal is also a very good size to incorporate a skimmer into it, plus have room for heaters and your main pump.

Quote:
How much would it cost to get a 100 gallon? $1500? Its hard finding parts for the 100 gallon on the internet.
This part you lost me on. Are you talking sump or aquarium?

Another good sorce of info on making sump and fuges out of lexan only is below. A good read to say the least.

http://www.melevsreef.com/
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 12:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 257
Send a message via MSN to DeathWarp
Congrats on the nice upgrade! You're 30g should be enough for a ncie sump setup
__________________
I Am The End.
DeathWarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2006, 08:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: california
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to reefmaster
question

what am i going to do with all of my livestock while i build the sump out of my 30 gallon? Im kinda stuck here, lol.
__________________
reefmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 12:14 AM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefmaster
what am i going to do with all of my livestock while i build the sump out of my 30 gallon? Im kinda stuck here, lol.
Good question. That is going to be the interesting part. Is there anyone you know that could house all you stock for a couple days in there reef tank, or do they have a quarantine tank, or can you take your stock to the lfs and have them hold if for you? It may sound a little crazy but could you get a big rubbermaid container and swap everthing over for a couple of days while you build and set up the main tank? A couple days of darkness shouldn't hurt that much.

Or face the fact that in your situation you may need to hold of on building one and buy the filtration prebuilt to handle your new tank and use the 30 for a qt.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 12:40 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to FishFrik
I don't think u have to build the sump "before" you set up the main tank. Just cycle ur 100G, slowly move ur livestocks from the 30G to it. Then once everything is transferred, build a sump out of the 30G.

Am i understanding ur question correctly? lol
__________________

__________________
I'm one of those fishnutz, who are actually nutz.
FishFrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help upgrading to a 100 gallon from a 12 gallon. L2 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-10-2006 07:29 PM
Who can make a custom tank? Need wierd deminsions for sump. Civicman86 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 05-20-2006 04:38 PM
new 100 gallon ryan Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 13 05-14-2006 04:13 PM
Cant do the 100 gallon hardparts2 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 1 09-21-2004 12:11 AM
100 gallon community anotheroption Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 08-26-2004 12:34 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.