Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-20-2004, 11:08 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 125
how do you keep air out of your cpr overflow

Hi All,
Just wondering I have 2 cpr overflows hooked up to 2 rio rejuvination pumps. It works beautifully except when the suck air out of the overflow c tube millions of micro bubbles get shot into the tank.

I've also read about using aqualifter vacuum pumps, but I've read that those require alot of maintenance and the lifespan isn't all that great.

Does anybody have any other methods of keeping air out of the overflow.
__________________

__________________
skennelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 01:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: orchard park, ny
Posts: 434
Send a message via AIM to yaksplat Send a message via MSN to yaksplat Send a message via Yahoo to yaksplat
i have a maxijet in my sump that has a hose connected to the venturi. I use the pump to initially start the siphon and then i turn the pump off and the air just siphons out. In case the power goes out, i have a float switch that will turn off the main pump in case the water gets too high


Jim
__________________

__________________
If consequence dictate my course of action, then it doesn't matter what's right, it's only wrong if you get caught.....
yaksplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 01:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
yaksplat - Can you send us a small diagram on how you set this up? I really hate siphoning through the U tube during maintenance, and the fact that mine has bubbles too, which seems to create more noise. I also want to see how you setup the float switch so I can stop worrying about my tank over flowing. Thanks

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 02:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: orchard park, ny
Posts: 434
Send a message via AIM to yaksplat Send a message via MSN to yaksplat Send a message via Yahoo to yaksplat
Diagrams

floatswitch diagram:
__________________
If consequence dictate my course of action, then it doesn't matter what's right, it's only wrong if you get caught.....
yaksplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 02:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: orchard park, ny
Posts: 434
Send a message via AIM to yaksplat Send a message via MSN to yaksplat Send a message via Yahoo to yaksplat
Siphon Diagram
__________________
If consequence dictate my course of action, then it doesn't matter what's right, it's only wrong if you get caught.....
yaksplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 03:08 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Thanks for the quick reply yaksplat! So, to make sure I understand this correctly, you have a Maxijet in the sump and an airline tube running from the Maxijet to the overflow U tube to start the syphon? Once the siphon is created, then you turn the Maxijet off, right?
Do you also have a setup of your floatswitch and how it works? I just want to make sure that if I lose power and it comes back on, I don't want to flood the living room. Thanks again for your help!

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 03:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: orchard park, ny
Posts: 434
Send a message via AIM to yaksplat Send a message via MSN to yaksplat Send a message via Yahoo to yaksplat
worst case scenario right now, if the power goes out for more than about 30 seconds (the time it takes to siphon enough water out of the CPR, so that it fills with air and breaks the siphon), then the pump will cycle on and off as the water level increases and decreases as the float switch dictates.

Jim
__________________
If consequence dictate my course of action, then it doesn't matter what's right, it's only wrong if you get caught.....
yaksplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 03:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Salttanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Prosper, TX.
Posts: 1,297
Thanks Jim. How do you have the floatswitch configured? Is it drilled in the sump itself so it will know when to shut the pump off? I get confused with this part. Sorry.

Mike
__________________
Salttanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 03:27 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
The CPR siphon should never break because of power failure, regardless of how long the power goes out for. That is the purpose of the chambers on either side of the siphon. If yours drains out in 30 seconds, there is something wrong with it.

To answer the original question, I'm using a Rio 600RVT on my CPR. Yes, it shoots the air bubbles out whenever it finds some air in the siphon, but this happens rarely enough that it isn't a problem.

If...somehow... the siphon were to become completely drained, the Rio 600RVT would restart the siphon from dry before anything got out of control.

When you've stopped the system for maintenance the chambers drain down to a minimum. When you restart the system, the Rio starts to pull water out of siphon and can actually drain the siphon of water before the sump pump refills the tank enough to start feeding the siphon. This results in a lot of air bubbles shooting into the tank for a few minutes.

You can avoid the bubbles by leaving the Rio unplugged for a minute after you restart the system. This gives the sump return pump time to start filling up the tank and feeding the CPR. As I said, the siphon will restart without the Rio's help. After it has run for a moment or two, then start up the Rio and it will pull only a tiny bit of air.
__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 03:38 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: orchard park, ny
Posts: 434
Send a message via AIM to yaksplat Send a message via MSN to yaksplat Send a message via Yahoo to yaksplat
well, that's the negative part of using a powerhead to clear the bubbles.



Salttanker - The floatswitch is mounted in the main tank. Your sump should be able to handle the water that siphons from the tank in a worst case scenario.

Jim
__________________

__________________
If consequence dictate my course of action, then it doesn't matter what's right, it's only wrong if you get caught.....
yaksplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPR Overflow Opinions please nicksgirl General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-02-2007 11:30 PM
CPR Like Overflow - Looks for Frags noteworthy Archive 2 05-09-2006 09:13 PM
CPR overflow/sump? MT79 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 11-07-2005 02:46 PM
CPR overflow question Rsquared333 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 02-25-2005 01:58 AM
CPR overflow? d9hp Nano Reefs 31 02-07-2005 03:30 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.