Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-15-2005, 09:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
How long for pH to get up there?

Just added water to my tank yesterday. I'll be adding LR on thursday. I was wondering how long before the pH goes up? Right now I'm sitting at 7.55 7.60.
Will the LR affect the pH?

Thanx
__________________

__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 01:15 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 47
7.6 8O What kind of salt and substrate are you using? 1 hour after I mixed my salt water (Instant Ocean, by the way)and poured in my aragonite sand, I had a ph of 8.2

You can try adding a little sodium bicarbonate if you are doing fish only or even calcium hydroxide solution (kalkwasser) if you are planning on raising corals to raise the ph, but I am really suprised it is that low. The live rock should raise the ph just because of the amount of calcium that is usually in the rock (dead corals or limerock).
__________________

__________________
DaveBeaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 01:26 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
The LR should help buffer the water.
I would just give it some time. How much water movement do you have and do you have a glass cover?
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 02:26 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: santa cruz california
Posts: 325
Send a message via AIM to foma2000
ph is one of those things that should be at the correct range emediatly after you mix it. is your specific gravity correct? do you have a c02 reactor?
__________________
there once was a kid named colin. he looked just like a gorilla. his name wasn't magilla, because it was colin.
foma2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2005, 10:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
No cO2 reactor. SG is at 1.023. (3 days after water was mixed)
I used instant Ocean Salt and RO water
I have 80Lbs of CaribSea Aragamax sand
Yes I do have a full cover (hood) on my tank. I'll toss that in about 2 weeks when mt PC show up. I know that surface gas exchange can be affected by it being covered.
And as an update today my pH is at 8.05.
Guess you're right QS!
Thanx
__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
long

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Long? sarahsunshine Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-18-2009 10:01 PM
How Long does it take? flushingfish Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 11-01-2006 11:57 AM
How long until I see nitrite? (a bit long) Conesus_Kid Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 09-29-2005 06:42 PM
How long?? Saltwater Man Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 11-26-2004 11:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.