Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-05-2009, 04:56 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dannyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 438
How many LPH/GPH?? HELP.

Ok. So i have a 55gallon/256litre tank.

It had about 50kg of live rock, And about 7 corals (Anenomes, Mushrooms, ect ect.)

Now i have one 3000LPH power head and had like another powerhead running the same time. I went to a couple of LFS and i think having the two it looked abit overkill, But seemed to keep the water clean.
Now today, I removed the "Other powerhead" and kept the 3000LPH one, Its moving all corals and turning the tank.
Now im wondering, Is that enough? Or should i put the other one back in there? I dont want a massive algae growth starting.

EDIT: also the "Otherpower Head" would have been pulling maybe a bit more then 3000LPH from the force is was shooting out.
Thanks heaps.
__________________

__________________
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 05:10 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Generalx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vancouver British Columbia
Posts: 54
dude, im using 137gph(400LPH) stock in a biocube 14 gallon. Ur 3000LPH is probably too much? does your corals reach out at that much flow? some corals wont even extend out if theres too much water movement. Like the bubble coral?
__________________

__________________
Generalx5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 05:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dannyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 438
Well i only removed the other powerhead today. And yes, Most where fully out expect one. And that made me think it may have to much flow. Well from what your saying, I think the 3000LPH should do it?

thanks.
__________________
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 05:31 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Generalx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vancouver British Columbia
Posts: 54
thats about 790 gallons per hour flow rate, in that case, your getting almost 14 and a half times turn-over in an hour. Thats plenty already IMO. Now if your using a mechanical filter, and your turnover rate was over 10, thats very decent already.
__________________
Generalx5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 05:37 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dannyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 438
Ahhk, Thanks.

Well when i was running the 2, Must of been doing at least 30 turnovers an hour. Abit overkill. Lol.

Thanks again.
__________________
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gph

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPH your opinion how much? icedone General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 08-09-2009 09:37 AM
my first fuge: overflow gph vs. return pump gph copi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 05-05-2005 10:58 PM
How much GPH powerheads mike333 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 05-01-2005 02:55 AM
gph questions cgray Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 03-08-2005 12:29 AM
Were to drill and gph? Rsquared333 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 03-03-2005 08:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.