Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-26-2012, 12:17 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 147
How much GPH Water Flow do i need?

Hello guys
i currently have a 46gallon (bow front) aquarium with 4inch deep sand bed and about 50pounds of live rock.
Also, i have a 29gal sump with about 20gal of water in it.
I use a mag drive 5 for my return pump (500gph)
and i also have a vortech MP10. (but i dont run it full speed)

i have one ocellaris clown in the tank and he seems to struggle to swim in my tank. (im not sure if he likes it or just struggles because he only hangs out near the pump ...) but when i turn off my pumps he goes down to the rocks for a clean by a cleaner shrimp. however when the pumps are on he just swims on the top near the pump.)

Should i down grade to a mag drive 3? is this to much flow for my tank?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
TimaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
I.would think it needs to be around 450 gph. Is this a fowlr? Because you didn't mention corals
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:35 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
I've got a 46 bf mixed reef with roughly 2250gph and plan on swapping out my pumps for one mp10. Your setup is fine and if the clown gets tired he will find a low flow area to rest. One mp10 can't out due the actual ocean on the reefs so he's probably just playing in the current lol.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 147
i am still learning... but no, i will add corals really soon.
__________________
TimaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858
I've got a 46 bf mixed reef with roughly 2250gph and plan on swapping out my pumps for one mp10. Your setup is fine and if the clown gets tired he will find a low flow area to rest. One mp10 can't out due the actual ocean on the reefs so he's probably just playing in the current lol.
Boy that's a lot of flow and + 1 to it will find a low flow spot
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:49 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew McFadden

Boy that's a lot of flow and + 1 to it will find a low flow spot
I actually feel like I need another 250-500 thus the upgrade lol.. my rockwork really breaks up my flow which the mp10s undertow should really help that
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 147
What kind of Fish do you have? And how are they taking the Flow?
__________________
TimaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 12:56 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858

I actually feel like I need another 250-500 thus the upgrade lol.. my rockwork really breaks up my flow which the mp10s undertow should really help that
Don't you use power heads in the tank or do you just use the flow of the pump coming out of your sump?

I think I am off on my numbers as the op was asking about flow and I just gave the flow of what I'd aim for coming out of the sump. But even then I don't know how tall the tank and stand is to calculate that in for the head.
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Ya I'm counting return pump and three circulation pumps (total DT flow)
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 01:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
I've got a rainfords goby a mandarin and 2 zebra barred dartfish with no problem at all in the flow.
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, gph, water, water flow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.