Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-24-2014, 03:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 160
How much sand does everyone have?

I'm thinking about removing all but an inch or less
__________________

__________________
Swicicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 04:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,569
I have about an inch in my tank. The only problem I see with removing a deeper sand bed is that it will cause a sizable ammonia spike. Imho the best way is to use a siphon to remove small amounts during your weekly water change and take up to a few months getting it where you want depending on the size of the tank.
__________________

__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 04:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
How old is the tank?size? Depth of sand?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 04:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 160
I've got a 125 set up for about 2 years. I'm having algae problems.

I've got an average of about 2 inches now
__________________
Swicicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 05:33 PM   #5
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,525
when I set up the 90g I added rock than sand so basically no sand under rocks or behind plus with my clowns kicking sand around its got a thin layer back there but I think I used only 50lbs sand in all
__________________
Save
54seaweed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 05:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
1 and a half years old. 1 and a half-2 inches. Somewhere in that range
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 05:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
2years... I would not risk it. If you have algy problems its not the sand, cut back feeding and lighting. And honestly look into a algy turf scrubber.. they can do wonders for a tank. Also they are cheep and a good diy project

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 06:03 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 160
Help me understand the risk of removing sand. There is lots of rock and very light bio load
__________________
Swicicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 09:57 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
uh.oh...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Posts: 418
Algae problems can come from the sand, but it's all variable. Detrius can build up in a deep sand bed, and pockets of gases that cause havoc when released. Having a good cleaning crew, nasarius snails, conch, sand sifting star fish, and gobies help take care of that. Removing your sand bed, or lessening it, will release problematic substances into your water column. This can be taken care of through water changes and if you take care when removing it.

But now about me. When I bought my tank, used, it came with a good 4 inches of sand bed. I decided this was causing issues and siphoned out all but about and inch. I regret that decision now, I wish I had about 2 inches. So, go slowly and make sure you save your old sand, you may want it back some day.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
See My Tanks Here
I have found the best way to cycle your tank! Want to know how? Pee in it. Build thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-141081-3.html Scientific Reading: Reefkeeping
uh.oh... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 10:26 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lshann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: 'Merica
Posts: 347
I have a 3in sand bed in my 165g
It's Pink Fiji and crush coral mix.

Works fine for me
__________________

__________________
Lshann14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What does everyone have for substrate? Flaxon-Waxon Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 09-30-2012 10:36 AM
Does everyone have a QT tank?? Tasha Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 25 04-12-2011 01:11 PM
why does everyone have snail problems? Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 35 05-27-2005 02:12 PM
Planted tank: how much flourite and how much sand? Sati Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-07-2004 11:57 AM
how much does sand cost? dittmerj Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 03-02-2004 02:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.