Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-22-2002, 07:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

How to feed after installing overflow........

I installed a new sump on my 30 hex with a new lifereef overflow. Since I am new to this setup I guess I am suppose to turn off the pump while feeding because the food just gets sucked in the overflow before the fish get it. Is this right or anyone have any thoughts on the matter?

Old 12-22-2002, 07:18 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus

I have always turned off the main pump the skimmer and any type of "filter", just leaving the powerheads on to feed. I usually run all the stuff to be turned off for feeding to one "six way" strip outlet that has an on/off switch, makes it easy to turn them all off at once.

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 09:58 PM   #3

Feeding

Yeah thats the ticket, I'm glad I thought of that.....Right?

I have been holding the food under the water for a second and then letting it go, so it doesn't float...But, somehow it makes it to the overflow....I will implement that method now....
Old 01-21-2003, 02:11 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist

Send a message via AIM to roadster3043 Send a message via MSN to roadster3043 Send a message via Yahoo to roadster3043
Greetings.

When I feed my fish, I just let the water return spray bar take care of the food moving it around the tank. So basically, top, middle and bottom feeders are fed.

JuanMa
roadster3043 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 10:36 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
I do not turn off any pumps either. My food generally sinks some so very little gets sucked into the overflow. I like the extra flow to blow the food around.