Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-17-2013, 11:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Jake337's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MI
Posts: 644
How To Maintain Quarantine

So I placed my fish with marine velvet into my cycled 20 gallon quarantine tank a week ago. Just tested for ammonia and there are amounts of it in the tank! So I did a 20% wc just a couple of hours ago. I re-added the amount of copper recommended back into the tank. My question is, how do I treat my sick fish with copper when the tank keeps creating ammonia? The copper is killing the beneficial bacteria and therefore there isn't anything to eat it up. How do I keep my fish alive while treating them when ammonia is present? Is wc the only answer? I would have to do it everyday! Also I need to keep my display tank fishless for about 2 months, how do I keep up with keeping my fish in the quarantine alive? So confused and need a lot of advice please! How do you run your quarantines? How do you keep the fish alive and treat them at the same time without the ammonia killing them?
__________________

__________________
Jake337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 12:54 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake337 View Post
So I placed my fish with marine velvet into my cycled 20 gallon quarantine tank a week ago. Just tested for ammonia and there are amounts of it in the tank! So I did a 20% wc just a couple of hours ago. I re-added the amount of copper recommended back into the tank. My question is, how do I treat my sick fish with copper when the tank keeps creating ammonia? The copper is killing the beneficial bacteria and therefore there isn't anything to eat it up. How do I keep my fish alive while treating them when ammonia is present? Is wc the only answer? I would have to do it everyday! Also I need to keep my display tank fishless for about 2 months, how do I keep up with keeping my fish in the quarantine alive? So confused and need a lot of advice please! How do you run your quarantines? How do you keep the fish alive and treat them at the same time without the ammonia killing them?
Yup, just keep up with your water changes! I'm dealing with the same thing. It sucks, but you'll never make the same mistake again lol

I would say you could use prime or some ammonia detoxifier but with some types of copper it will make it toxic (I know it does this with cupramine, not sure about others)
__________________

__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 11:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Prime removes metals. So if you add prime it will remove copper.. We just found this out at our pet store.. Had a hard time keeping copper levels up. We have been priming all the water... Until now.... Haha
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 12:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Just to get a little technical, Prime takes what is in your tap water, as long as its not too much, in other words, they have a set standard amount and they follow basically a tap water chart and what the DEP, DEC, Heath dept, local water company's etc use. Now that's not saying that it is magic in a bottle. If tap levels are higher then normal range then Prime will not be able to "precipitate the concentration" therefor leaving trace amounts of metals etc in the tank.

Assuming your levels are all within the "allowed" range then yes Prime will neutralize some metals and as they(Seachem)states it will precipitate the concentration making it less toxic.

This is from the from there tech support team. Just passing along some info I have gathered over the years of using Prime.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 12:23 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 765
Thank you. Our quarantine tank we have been treating with copper and the levels are always low.. Come to find out about the prime. We stopped using it for that tank and copper levels are were we want them..
__________________
JJ-MIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maintain, quarantine

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.