Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-04-2014, 11:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sansouci01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 708
how to measure magnesium above 1600 with red sea test kit

I'm raising my mag levels with tech-m to try and git rid of this bryopsis problem I have. heard it works wonders. We will see. Anyway, I have a red sea test kit but the magnesium only tests up to 1600ppm. How to I test beyond that ?
__________________

__________________
sansouci01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 11:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarinaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 790
I will follow along. I use the same test kit.
__________________

__________________
60 Gallon SPS dominated reef tank.
MarinaClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 11:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sansouci01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 708
I read somewhere that you can use half tank water and half ro/di water for the test. What ever the result is..just double it and you will get your reading. Just wondering if anyone has done that..
__________________
sansouci01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 02:51 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
Sans, that is absolutely the lab way to test high levels.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 03:12 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarinaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 790
I have had magnesium level at 1600+ for a very long time without dosing. I could be due to regular weekly water changes and the salt mix I use. Even if the OP got a precise reading above 1600 what's the best way to lower magnesium?
__________________
60 Gallon SPS dominated reef tank.
MarinaClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 07:02 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
sansouci01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 708
thanks.
I'll give that a try...
__________________
sansouci01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 08:39 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarinaClown View Post
I have had magnesium level at 1600+ for a very long time without dosing. I could be due to regular weekly water changes and the salt mix I use. Even if the OP got a precise reading above 1600 what's the best way to lower magnesium?
What salt mix are you using? I don't know of any with that much mag. If that was truly the case, you could switch salt mixes.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 11:26 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
MarinaClown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
What salt mix are you using? I don't know of any with that much mag. If that was truly the case, you could switch salt mixes.

Red Sea Coral Pro. Mag was high even before I started using this salt mix. I doubt switching will help. May be I've been getting false reads due to a defective test.
__________________
60 Gallon SPS dominated reef tank.
MarinaClown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 11:31 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mrvincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 2,246
The dude told me at the LFS if I get out of range with 1ml, then add another 1ml to the titration seringe.

I think the idea of cutting it with 50% RODI can work... Just give it a try ?
__________________
mrvincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 04:09 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
how to measure magnesium above 1600 with red sea test kit

Mixing 50% RO/DI and doubling the measurement should work fine.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
magnesium, red, sea, test, test kit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EI, why no magnesium? PPS pro, why magnesium? JackBlasto Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 8 09-10-2013 10:10 PM
Magnesium 1600 MarinaClown Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-28-2013 01:19 PM
magnesium test kit Salifert JackBlasto Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-28-2013 12:23 PM
Red Sea Test kit BrianNY Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 01-13-2004 12:54 AM
Help with Red Sea marine Test Kit Please. Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 12-05-2003 02:57 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.