Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-07-2004, 06:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 204
how to topoff tank?

what is the proper way to top off a SW tank? do u folks keep a batch of mixed saltwater around to top off or do u top off with fresh water?
__________________

__________________
guitarded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 06:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 730
Top off with fresh water.
Water evaporates and the salt stays so you want to add fresh water to keep the salinity consistent.

Oh, it's always good to have mixed salt water handy just in case you have to do an emergency water change.
__________________

__________________
Paintballs look like bubble gum
14G starphire,150W MH+32W act03,AquaClear 150 HOB filter, 75W EboJager, IceProbe chiller, Remora skimmer, closed loop SCWD mag5, auto toper-offer.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...lam/banner.jpg
klam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 06:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
exactly what Klam said...top-offs are freshwater, preferably R/O water, so salinity, hardness, etc...isn't altered.

But you do tend to keep a batch of saltwater mixed 2-3 days in advance of a water change.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 06:45 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 204
very good... thank you
__________________
guitarded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2004, 07:26 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Alot of us topoff with RO water also.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 12:07 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rosemount, MN
Posts: 1,091
Send a message via AIM to WarOrks15 Send a message via MSN to WarOrks15
i dump it in the sump so it mixes with that water before it is sent out to the main tank. i think it might be a little better one the fish and inverts.
__________________
A 46 gal bow front (Soft coral) reef tank with a 10 gal sump. And a 30 gal (SPS and Clam) reef tank hooked up to the sump of the 46 so they share water.
WarOrks15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 12:35 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 471
Quote:
Alot of us topoff with RO water also
Same here...curious, do you buffer the RO? I do, I find my RO ph really low like 7.7
__________________
hey half the fun is dreaming it up!
srgetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 09:40 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Posts: 1,022
Send a message via AIM to Anemoneman Send a message via Yahoo to Anemoneman
7.7 is a litle on the high side for RO water. The water should be pure H2O with a pH of 7. Don't add anything to the make up water. Just pour it in. Best method is an auto top off where the water is added slowly to avoid disturbances in the water parameters.
__________________
Mark
Anemoneman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 12:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 730
I love the auto-top off. Makes my life a little easier knowing my salinity is more consistent. I currently own a top-off that uses a float switch but it doesn't have a failover. I'm thinking about getting the Tunze Osmolator Universal top-off because it has 2 failovers.
__________________
Paintballs look like bubble gum
14G starphire,150W MH+32W act03,AquaClear 150 HOB filter, 75W EboJager, IceProbe chiller, Remora skimmer, closed loop SCWD mag5, auto toper-offer.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...lam/banner.jpg
klam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2004, 01:30 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Yeah, R/O water should be almost a perfect 7.0pH, with no hardness/alkalinity.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What auto topoff system do you use? chase33 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 06-05-2007 02:30 PM
Dosing topoff water. reefbound General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 02-24-2006 07:36 PM
Topoff water.? bckane Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 10-17-2005 10:45 PM
Auto Topoff Valve sevise Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-27-2004 07:41 AM
Anyone have auto-topoff go wrong?? Joshsmit56001 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-18-2003 04:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.