Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-02-2008, 12:33 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 164
Send a message via MSN to pph_2ppr
thechad, When you say it would not zero were you using calibration fluid or distilled water? Just curious to how a porecelain crab would react to hermits and firefish? Are they easy to keep?
__________________

__________________
pph_2ppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 01:41 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheChad View Post
However after several months of use I found my refeactometer would not zero, and some how was stuck.
There's nothing to "stick" in a refractometer. It's just light bending through a prism.

Agree with Sadielynn - sounds like it was dropped if you couldn't rezero it with the screw.

{Edit: now that I think about it, I suppose the pivot that the calibration screw adjusts could've been stuck, or not moving when you adjusted the screw. Either way, it sounds like a manufacturing defect that should be covered under a warranty or something.}
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 03:40 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
lamaseta17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: brooklyn ny
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to lamaseta17
yeah i have a hydrometer and it read 1.023 then a friend tested it it was 1.035 where can i get a good refractometer for a good price
__________________
lamaseta17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 10:59 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 164
Send a message via MSN to pph_2ppr
When calibrating I thought the calibration fluid was supposed to read 0, but the screw wouldn't let it go that low. So I guess it could have "stuck" since the fluid was supposed to be at 35 ppm which took me a few minutes to figure out :S How would dropping the refractometer affect it unless the glass was cracked?
__________________
pph_2ppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 11:29 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
refracto fluid should have a measurement to it. If you are using plain RO/DI water it should read ZERO. If you are using a solution, it should have a pre-determined salinity to calibrate it against. For instance, I have a solution that shows a SG of 1.014 for calibration purposes. I tend to use both RO/DI water AND the solution to check for accuracy.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydrometer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Message Fishyfanatic Forum Admin & Announcements 4 11-01-2005 09:37 PM
New Error Message with IE Bearfan Aquaria Off-Topic 6 06-20-2005 06:48 PM
Error message.... Somethingfishy Forum Admin & Announcements 3 11-22-2002 09:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.