Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-26-2008, 09:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 164
Send a message via MSN to pph_2ppr
Hydrometer Error

I was one that was naive enough to listen to the guy at the lfs and purchase a hydrometer. After being told that I need something new finially recieved my refractometer in the mail. After calibration I found that the same water which was 1.023 according to the hydro was 1.030 according to the refracto. Have any of you experienced such a large amount of error?(hydrometer has been discarded)

How long should the process while be lowering the SG level? Can I do it in a period of a few days?

Would salt levels this high be enough to have killed my shrimp in acclimation?
__________________

__________________
pph_2ppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 09:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sadielynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,835
Yes with levels that high it is possible to kill a shrimp . What were your other perameters specifically your PH ,nitrAtes, and NitrItes that is another ?
I would lower it over a week period by taking out a cup or two and adding fresh water . Checking before and after , if you by chance get to low you can top off with salt water . But you should be ok ...
Mine was off by 1.033 on ours when it read 1.023 upon checking against our refrac we found it to be way higher than it should have been and that was brand new out of the pack , if the rubber stopper inside gets moved just a bit it will throw it out of wack big time ... Refracts are not that expensive compaired to constantly worring or buying new hydrometers on a bimonthly basis
__________________

__________________
Sadielynn
Nanoreefing site
2 nanos
10 gallon ~6.5 gallon custom
Sadielynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 09:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Great advice by Sadie. Best thing you can do is purchase a refractometer...you can find them for under $50 and they are worth their weight in gold! At the very lest, have your hydrometer calibrated against a refracto at the LFS so you know far it is off.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 11:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 164
Send a message via MSN to pph_2ppr
My pH was at 8.0-8.2 ammonia was .25 nitrite was at 0 and nitrate was at 20 ppm. How besides water changes can I get my nitrate levels to go down?
__________________
pph_2ppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 11:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
macro algae will export nutrients like nitrates and i think if you have a really deep sand bed 3-4 inches at least that is undisturbed by any kinda of sand sifters or anything eventually it will grow some bacteria that will consume nitrates but i'm not positive on that one someone who knows more will have to correct me on that one if i'm wrong. your ammonia should be at 0 before you put anything in the tank.
__________________
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 11:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fijiwigi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 1,726
I also found that my hydromoter was reading 1.024 and I was really at 1.030 glad I bought a refractometer for sure. I can now sleep at night
__________________

FijiWigi_Tank_photos
120G Oscar tank in progress
fijiwigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 03:47 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by pph_2ppr View Post
My pH was at 8.0-8.2 ammonia was .25
Why is your ammonia reading anything above 0?
You should do a PWC now to get that down. A pwc will also help with the nitrates.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 04:51 PM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by pph_2ppr View Post
How besides water changes can I get my nitrate levels to go down?
Feed every other day and check you PWC water and top off water to make sure you are not adding nitrates yourself. I experienced a big difference between my hydrometer and refractometer.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 07:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 164
Send a message via MSN to pph_2ppr
I'm pretty sure my ammonia is not 0 because I am over stocked or overfeeding. There is two damsels both are pretty small, but I will switch to one clown, firefish, OR goby. I feed roughy 8 small pellets everyday. I have to break them down because the fish are too small to eat them. What should I do differently?
__________________
pph_2ppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2008, 12:06 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
And if I recall, you have those two damsels in a 10g that really never properly cycled. That isn't helping matters either.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydrometer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error Message Fishyfanatic Forum Admin & Announcements 4 11-01-2005 09:37 PM
New Error Message with IE Bearfan Aquaria Off-Topic 6 06-20-2005 06:48 PM
Error message.... Somethingfishy Forum Admin & Announcements 3 11-22-2002 09:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.