Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-23-2006, 08:14 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 343
Buy the refractometer it will be worth every penny in the end. Oh by the way you can't calibrate a hydrometer with natural SW you have to have a refractometer as mentioned before and done like it was suggested.
__________________

__________________
angelscrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 10:47 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to FishFrik
Quote:
What will using seawater do for you???
I think he's going to test the real "seawater" with his hydropmeter. If the result comes out to be 1.025, his hydrometer is working fine.
__________________

__________________
I'm one of those fishnutz, who are actually nutz.
FishFrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 10:54 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atl, GA
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Feron Send a message via Yahoo to Feron
Couldn't he just use purified water to see if it read baseline and adjust accordingly?


EDIT - ahh I see... most don't go that low... I'll find the model I had that did..until I got frustrated with it and just bought a refractometer..

2x EDIT - Instant Ocean model.. reads 1.000...handy, that..
__________________
Feron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 11:15 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 801
Send a message via AIM to FishFrik
Quote:
2x EDIT - Instant Ocean model.. reads 1.000...handy, that..
My IO model used to reads 1.000 for my RO water... now it reads 1.004 lol
__________________
I'm one of those fishnutz, who are actually nutz.
FishFrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2006, 11:21 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Atl, GA
Posts: 382
Send a message via AIM to Feron Send a message via Yahoo to Feron
yup.. like I've said before...hydrometers are garbage (and gotten flak for saying so...)
Refractometers stay pretty much consistent... and you can always reliably adjust them to remain so...
Worth the extra $$ (especially when you have some 100s-1000s of $ of stock)
__________________
Feron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 11:32 AM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
My hydrometer was dead on when I first got it. I recently got a refractometer and found out that I've been keeping my tank at 1.030+ salinity for...who knows how long.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2006, 11:52 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BFE North carolina
Posts: 472
Quote:
My IO model used to reads 1.000 for my RO water... now it reads 1.004 lol
Usually thats a sign of salt residue in the hydrometer which scews the readings.
__________________
Scottm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 10:45 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Onatrio Canada
Posts: 32
Send a message via MSN to dankent
well I had that same hydro as well .... I had a friend come over with this refractometer and show me how off the hydrometer was off ... and i did the same thing ... with the black lines representing where i wanted to keep my salinity ... I ended up buying a Digital Pinpoint Salinity meter that has done very well for me now.
__________________
Danno
dankent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 10:41 AM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I had that hydro too. I read here, calibrate your hydro with distilled water. Where it lands should be 0, mark that and you can adjust the rest of your readings from that. I believe this would be better than trying to calibrate your hydro to seawater.
PS. I agree with the rest, if you can afford the refracto, do it. Mine hydro was reading 1.022 but on the refracto was 1.027, if I remember correctly.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 05:04 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sherman, Texas
Posts: 87
RE-FRACT-O-METER
it will solve on your salinity problems
__________________

__________________
geckofrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hydrometer, meters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.