Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-04-2003, 04:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 20
I finally bought one (RO/DI)

And now I'd really appreciate some help. I've been reading the forum for a few weeks now and picked up some very helpful info.

I bought a 100gpd 6stage from Aquasafecanada on ebay. At the price, I figured I had to try it. Hopefully it's a good unit.

Now the questions, since I know nothing at all about RO/DI except that it will finally be clean water.

1. After filtering the water, do I need to add anything but salt?
What if I don't need to add salt, just using it for topoff water? If I add something, what's the best to use?

2. It may sound silly, but I assume that I will just "go to filtered water" through normal water changes. It will take some time before I actually have all filtered water in the tank.

I've had the tank (actually two, one reef, one fish only) for a while, but I've always just used tap water. I appreciate any advise that anyone can offer.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
steve5520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 04:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin Mn
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to Dewey
ro/ di

That was one of the best this i bought was a good ro/di unit. I myself use the ro/di water for top offs and for water changes i dont ad any thing but salt. I have a 30 gallon rubermaid garbage can i use to store water in.

Hope this helps Dewey
__________________

__________________
Dewey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 04:30 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
This is how I describe it.

If you physically remove water from the system then you need to replace it with saltwater. If you are simply adding water to replentish from evaporation then you should add freshwater.

Some of us including myself use Kalkwasser in our water to help maintain calicum levels but you dont need to do this if you have a fish only setup or if your calicum load is not very heavy.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 05:26 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 20
Thanks.

I know this is the wrong place, but I forgot to ask about using RO/DI in freshwater tanks. If memory serves, I will need to add something before using in a freshwater tank. Or will the pH stabilize from what's already in the tank?
__________________
steve5520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2003, 07:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Using RO/DI water in a FW environment is an all around bad idea. This is because one normally doesn't add anything to the water other than a dechlorinator (unlike SW where you add salt mix that contains all essential vitamins and nutrients). You would have to buy select products that would add everything back into the water that the filter is taking out. Also you are drastically lowering the water's pH (i.e. pH of 6) and taking out just about every amount of alkalinity in the water (i.e. low KH). This would lead to you having no buffering capacity, low water pH, and no minerals in the water for plants or fish.

Check with the FW guys if you want a more specific answer, but like I said, it is generally a bad idea.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 05:54 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 140
I bought My RO/DI unit from the same vendor, and I am totally happy with it. It works well, and I picked up a TDS meter and my total dissolved solids went from 246(out of the tap) to 4ppm. If you dont have a TDS meter I really reccommend you purchase one, its well worth the money to be able to know how well your filters are working and wether they need changing yet or not.
Zero
__________________
Remember... It's only Paranoia if your wrong.

Why Settle For The Lesser Evil! Vote Cthulhu!

Live in Nevada? Visit the Nevada Regional Forum at http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewfo...dcb6a37297e562
CountZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 08:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: St Clair Shores, Michigan
Posts: 20
I don't have one yet (TDS meter). I've been seriously considering getting the inline one from aquariumwaterfilters.com. Checks after RO and DI.

I was planning on getting a pressure gage too, as I don't see one on that unit for some reason. I don't have it yet, supposed to get here Wednesday.
__________________
steve5520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 07:32 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Nevada
Posts: 140
Get the handheld one unless you really want the inline version. Itís a little cheaper, and it also allows you to test your source water so you know the improvement over tap water. Plus, its really simple to use, and no need to install Thatís the lazy in me talking.
Zero
__________________

__________________
Remember... It's only Paranoia if your wrong.

Why Settle For The Lesser Evil! Vote Cthulhu!

Live in Nevada? Visit the Nevada Regional Forum at http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewfo...dcb6a37297e562
CountZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I finally bought a python talloulou Aquaria Off-Topic 11 07-07-2005 10:26 AM
Look what I bought for $47.10 gilraen Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-16-2005 10:52 AM
i bought angeleyes88_88 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 07-22-2004 11:49 AM
We bought it!! Keeper New Acquisitions 7 07-02-2004 06:40 PM
I BOUGHT............. felipe Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-12-2003 11:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.