Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-30-2012, 12:54 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 110
all of you guys got a point. i will test my water source this week and see if that is the problem. if so, ill invest in a ro/di system. many thanks... its just iratiting how im always having some sort of algae or something going on but i guess its all part of the fun.. till it becomes a little to much.. hahaha

andy.. im verry impress with all your knowdelge and your experience. its must have ben super difficult to run a reef back than.. thanks so much for your help and comments you guys.. i will test my water this week and i will let you know the outcome.. =)
__________________

__________________
Elchakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:11 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 110
Ok so i finally went to test my water today.. AND.... yup.. water source was bad... amonia was high.. it was at 1.0... crazy huh?...and well everything else was perfect.. i just did a water change yesterday with that same water so i will b testing tonight and see what effect it had... im thinking about buying a ro/di system a saw one at BRS for like 160ish w 4 stages... any experiance with those?
__________________

__________________
Elchakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:16 PM   #23
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
I have the 5 stage ro/di from BRS. I LOVE it. It is like, 75 gph and produces amazing water. The garbage coming out of my well water is awful, but it makes it pristine.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:35 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 110
Is there a such systenm from were i can get ro/di and drinking water?
__________________
Elchakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:40 PM   #25
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
Yes. An ro/di unit is the same type of unit you would attach to the waterline in your house to get the same result. You can actually order the pieces off of BRS when you build a unit. You end up having to having a pressurized tank hooked up to the system so when you hit the faucet you get a full glass instantly, rather than having to stand and wait.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:46 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 110
My ubderstanding was that ro/di was u drinkable b/c it actually removes all trace elements and its bad for ur body.. i acty saw a un that u can connect to ur sink line and theres a little switch to switch between ro/di and purfied drinking water
__________________
Elchakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:48 PM   #27
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
If it was undrinkable then bottled water is murdering people. It removed everything from the water, yes, but that doesn't make it undrinkable. Some trace elements are good and some are bad. They give water "taste". But it is quite drinkable. If it wasn't, my parents and myself (we share the same well water) wouldn't be able to drink our water because of the neighbors spraying chemicals and cow manure on their corn fields.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:50 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 110
Makes sense i guess... so how does all this ro/di unit hook up to and stuff?..
__________________
Elchakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:52 PM   #29
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
Lots of ways. There is a couple hookups for the faucet or you can simply plumb it into your waterline. I have it on my faucet adapted so I can run my dishwasher with the flip of a switch.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:58 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 110
Cool cool... ill check em out and see whats more combinient for me
__________________

__________________
Elchakas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.