Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2013, 07:09 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Supa Belle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: S.A. Texas
Posts: 322
I have a 90 gallon with a 30 gallon sump, yea he sees me with the camera and poses for me he is my favourite fish

This is my favourite picture of him
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1802813685.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	130.8 KB
ID:	166989  
__________________

__________________
90 gal display 30 gal sump/fuge
San Antonio, Texas
Supa Belle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 07:25 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Fishtankkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 68
[QUOTE=Rutrag;2429988]
Aquarium sump explanation - YouTube
Wow, thanks! I have some questions about the sump still. First, did the pipes come with the sump when you bought it or did you make that part yourself? Second, the heater and skimmer can be hooked up in the sump?How do you? Fourth, can a refugium be hooked up in the sump or does it have to be on the back of the tank, and will you please explain a refugium to me and its purpose if you can? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Fishtankkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:56 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Fishtankkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 68
Lol, nice fish Belle!
__________________
Fishtankkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:33 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
The majority of skimmers on the market are actually designed to operate in sumps in 5" to 8" of water. Some are hang on tank types and there are some that are external models made to sit on the floor. The one I have can be used in sump as I have it or external. In either case, the skimmer is fed water from the pump located in the sump. So, to install it, you just put the pump and skimmer in the sump. I use a submersible heater, so installing it amounts to putting it in the sump as well.

The pipes I installed myself. My sump came with flex hose for the return lines I used until fairly recently. The hard pipes make for a neater look in my opinion.

A refugium is a refuge for some fauna and / or macro algae that would otherwise become food in the main display. A refugium may be in sump, remote, or hang on. They typically have low flow through them and a deep sand bed or refugium mud in them as a substrate. The idea here is that the deep sand bed or mud creates an anoxic zone where a type of bacteria that likes that environment converts nitrate into nitrogen, completing the nitrogen cycle. Also, small crustaceans called "pods" can live and reproduce there to provide supplemental food to fish. The macro algae also pulls some toxins for the water as well. Refugiums generally need to have lighting and it is recommended that the lighting run opposite of the display to help with the pH shift that happens at night. I don't have fuge because I don't feel my sump is large enough, and I know my flow through the sump is too fast for one.
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:57 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
I have a 30g FOWLR without a skimmer, and I have a aquaclear 70 hob and a aquaclear 30 on it. The 30 is there just to stay seeded in case I need it for the QT tank. I've never had any cyano or hair algae, the AC's keep the water good. I also have about 35-40 lbs of LR. Petco is having a $1/gal sale for the next week or so. You can get a 10g (or even 20g) for the QT cheap right now.
__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 04:44 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Fishtankkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutrag View Post
The majority of skimmers on the market are actually designed to operate in sumps in 5" to 8" of water. Some are hang on tank types and there are some that are external models made to sit on the floor. The one I have can be used in sump as I have it or external. In either case, the skimmer is fed water from the pump located in the sump. So, to install it, you just put the pump and skimmer in the sump. I use a submersible heater, so installing it amounts to putting it in the sump as well.

The pipes I installed myself. My sump came with flex hose for the return lines I used until fairly recently. The hard pipes make for a neater look in my opinion.

A refugium is a refuge for some fauna and / or macro algae that would otherwise become food in the main display. A refugium may be in sump, remote, or hang on. They typically have low flow through them and a deep sand bed or refugium mud in them as a substrate. The idea here is that the deep sand bed or mud creates an anoxic zone where a type of bacteria that likes that environment converts nitrate into nitrogen, completing the nitrogen cycle. Also, small crustaceans called "pods" can live and reproduce there to provide supplemental food to fish. The macro algae also pulls some toxins for the water as well. Refugiums generally need to have lighting and it is recommended that the lighting run opposite of the display to help with the pH shift that happens at night. I don't have fuge because I don't feel my sump is large enough, and I know my flow through the sump is too fast for one.
Thanks, also what type of sump do you have? I am thinking about doing a 75 gallon instead of a 30 gallon. Another thing, do you know where to buy a good stand but a cheap one or good stand plans?
__________________
Fishtankkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 04:45 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Fishtankkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beengirl View Post
I have a 30g FOWLR without a skimmer, and I have a aquaclear 70 hob and a aquaclear 30 on it. The 30 is there just to stay seeded in case I need it for the QT tank. I've never had any cyano or hair algae, the AC's keep the water good. I also have about 35-40 lbs of LR. Petco is having a $1/gal sale for the next week or so. You can get a 10g (or even 20g) for the QT cheap right now.
Thanks for the info .
__________________
Fishtankkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:00 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishtankkeeper View Post
Thanks, also what type of sump do you have? I am thinking about doing a 75 gallon instead of a 30 gallon. Another thing, do you know where to buy a good stand but a cheap one or good stand plans?
My sump is an Eshopps DLX-200. You can make out MUCH cheaper if you build your own though. As far as a stand, I'd check craigslist regularly for a tank and stand. See if you can a tank with a built in overflow or pre-drilled. You may be able to come up with a whole set up for less than a tank and stand new.
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:13 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Fishtankkeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutrag View Post
My sump is an Eshopps DLX-200. You can make out MUCH cheaper if you build your own though. As far as a stand, I'd check craigslist regularly for a tank and stand. See if you can a tank with a built in overflow or pre-drilled. You may be able to come up with a whole set up for less than a tank and stand new.
Thanks, I really want a 75 gallon with two corner overflows. What test equipment will I need besides a saltwater test kit, a reef test kit, and a refractomer? Again lighting, do I need the lighting system to cover the whole tank or is the Taotronic Dimmable 120 watt good? Also, nice tank by the way.
__________________
Fishtankkeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:37 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
As far as test kits, you'll want to make sure you have ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, calcium, alkalinity, magnesium, pH, and phosphate as well as a refractometer. What will be your water source? You don't want to use tapwater, as that will drive you bonkers with algae growth. An RODI unit is a good investment in the long run, but many LFS sell it, or you can buy from a grocery store. Regardless of where you buy, test it before adding to your tank.

I think a 75 with two built in overflows might be hard to find. I know Marineland / Perfecto has one with one. You might be able to find one with one and have it drilled and add a second kit.

PLEASE be sure to invest in a cheap quarantine system for your fish as well. It's a lot less expensive than losing the entire fish collection to ick.

Also, thank you for your compliment.
__________________

__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
salt, saltwater

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.