Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-04-2005, 05:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
I received my Zoo's today

I finally got them. Now I just need to get home acclimate them. I can't tell anything they are all closed up for now.

Rachel
__________________

__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 05:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 64
How many watts/gallon do the zoo's need? Also do they need any suppliments in the water?
__________________

__________________
TXclownin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 06:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: LUBB. TEXAS
Posts: 356
Zoos have minimal light needs. They are one of the easiest to keep.
__________________
myty1705
Message to all aquariasts!!!!!
Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination.
Oscar Wilde
MYTY1705 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 06:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: stockton CA
Posts: 164
post pics when you get them
__________________
Saltwater Aquarium Enthusiast (sôltwôtr -kwâr-m n-thz-st) - One bound in servitude as the property of a person, household or object.
Synonym - Happiness in slavery
juskeepswiming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 06:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 64
I fell in love with the picture on the ORA website of some of the zoos. http://www.orafarm.com/images/zoanthid.jpg Ill have a little over 3 watts/gallon in my 23 gal. This is enough right?
__________________
TXclownin' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 07:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
I have 3.5 and I sure hope it's enought. I will be feeding plankton. I can't wait to see them open up. I'm read they are easy.

Rachel
__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 08:43 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
Ok looks like some really pretty colors. I can't really tell yet. Some of them are trying to open up but I'll know more when they open up fully. Any suggestions on how to attach the rocks to my rocks? They came on small pieces of rocks. Do you have to take all the rocks out and dry them to superglue them? Thanks

Scat
__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 09:04 AM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
No, you don't have to dry all of the rocks. I use a lot of the superglue gel by Lock-Tite, let it set a second, dip it in the water to form a skim, wait another couple seconds, then place it in the aquarium wherever I want it to glue to. Has worked for me for rock to rock. Coral I do outside the tank and I make sure the rock that I am attaching too is fairly dry.

Zoos require minimal lighting. Anything over 2 wpg should me fine.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 09:05 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
You can superglue the rock to another or use some of the putty that most LFS sell. It works well with attaching rocks to rocks.

Super glue gel works best if the rock is dry though.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 10:14 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
Ok sounds like good advise here. Thank you. I will call my LRS and see what he has. My sea urchin is plowing over the poor things.

Rachel
__________________

__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
zoo's look burnt??? podman1973 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 6 04-29-2009 07:11 PM
Zoo's just won't open allyjoe Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 05-22-2006 12:16 PM
I need info on zoo's TXclownin' Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-04-2005 10:14 PM
zoo's dtprkr Midwest & the Dakotas 0 04-30-2005 05:09 PM
I received some plants for my tank today.. wishbone Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-02-2005 12:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.