Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-08-2005, 06:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Send a message via MSN to rocket81
Im a newbie with questions (big surprise huh)

Ok, so for the last 8 hours I've done nothin but read data online from this site and a few others on the things you need to know when setting up. I'm goin with a 55 gallon tank, and a FOWLR setup. So I plan on gettin a couple LR, adding sand, and enough of the other rocks to equal up to about 50 lbs or so.
My main question is on water changes. After about the first month or so when all the levels get to where they need to be how do you go about a water change. Do you need to heat it to the same temp. as your tank, etc.
Any advice you guys wanna give would be great since you are experienced with this and well, i'm not. Thanks for anything

Old 10-08-2005, 07:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

New SW sould be as close as possible the same salinity and temp. Mix new water for 24 hours before using it.
Keep doing your homework and you will save yourself time money and headaches in the end.

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 09:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

I am going to say yes as well ... although some will tell you that temp. is not as important so long as the water is not freezing or boiling! I don't run a heater in either of my tanks and my temps are always steady at 79-80deg. When I do water changes if the new water is that far off I throw in a little 50w heater for a few and BAM change it out!

Salinity on the other hand is VERY important ... if you want to maintain your SG level then make sure the water you are putting in has the same level as that you are taking out.

R.I.P Walena K. Cox
7/7/62 - 8/11/2002