Im looking into setting up a 30 gal reef and fish tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RobbieHadley

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi everyone. Im looking into setting up a 30 gal reef and fish tank but Im new to the saltwater aquarium, I have only ever dealt with freshwater. I have been doing a lot of reading throughout these forums, as well as others but wanted to see if you can all help me answer some of the more specific questions I have. My first question is what type of lighting you prefer for your tank, T5, LED, mix of both? any recommendations on brand? I plan on having a mix of LPS and SPS corals as well as an Anenome and possibly others. (i want a bright colorful reef look) I was also wondering, because its on the smaller end, would you recommend a sump? I know i can get away without having one, and i like the idea of being able to put everything like the heater and whatnot in the sump so its not in the tank, and this brings me into part two of this question, for a tank so small, would you recommend a protein skimmer? This is really what makes me lean towards using a sump is if its recommended to still have a protein skimmer. I also plan on having live rock and live sand as my primary filtration, what else would you recommend? and my last question, for a 30 gal tank, what kind of powerhead/wavemaker would you recommend for the the mix of corals i listed above? Sorry to bombard you with a bunch of questions, i want to start getting this tank set up within the next 6-8 months and want to be as prepared as possible, especially with the equipment. Thanks in advance!

For sps,anemone your gonna want either a 4 bulb t5 ho or LEDS. I have a 30 gallon reef with just softies and lps. I have no sump or protein skimmer, I have one marine land penguin 350,and 150 filter along with a power head. It works great and conditions stay constant.