Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-06-2011, 08:05 AM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
You got ammonia. That's likely the problem.

How long ago did you cycle? And how?
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:48 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
I agree with Ray, if you reading ammonia, you have issues. The ammonia should always be 0, that's most likely the cause of your inverts demise.
__________________

__________________
"If your wife ever asks how much something was for your tank, just tell her you got it on sale and you had to have it! She'll understand"

-Chuck
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 10:28 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
first guess would be ammonia. it's toxic at any level. i have heard that lava rock leaches heavy metals. my 2nd guess would be the lava rock.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:52 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Ooo. Did not see that ammonia reading. Might want to double check that.
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 10:16 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 9
Yes crabs came from same place. Not sure where ammonia is from never has showed any before. This is driving be crazy. I really like watching the different inverts. I will try anything at this point
Thanks to all
__________________
99jeepin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 10:19 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
well, if they were dying before you had detectable ammonia, i would definitely chuck the lava rock.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 10:40 PM   #17
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
Present ammonia will kill inverts. Something hide and die? 0 Nitrates is good, but suspect especially with ammonia there. Can you describe your system?
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:17 PM   #18
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99jeepin View Post
4 large pieces of lava rock.
I agree with Doug.
Do you know where that came from? Some can leech heavy metals.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:30 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 9
My system is a 300 gallontank with an algea scrubber from Inland Aquatics, 30 gallon diy sump, two pumps one for scrubber another to move water, RO/DI from Filterdirect with auto fill, started using filter socks two week ago. Lighting is the weak part of the setup. Just using 2 four foot fluorescent lights Tank has been up and running for 8 months ago. Added live sand and rock No fish or inverts were added till the sixth month. A
I am new to saltwater had freshwater for years. So I know I will be making errors. I retested the ammonia again today and now showing 0. Not sure what I done to to mess it up. Will test again tomorrow night. Using the API Master Test Kit.
How do I test for heavy metals
__________________
99jeepin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 02:03 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
So you had a tank running for six months with nothing in it? Then unless you added dead shrimp or food it never cycled.
__________________

__________________
Fishless cycling
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, crab, crabs, die, hermit, hermit crab, hermit crabs, ick, inverts, rim, shrimp, snail, snails, urchin

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fish died, crabs, snails and urchin are at a standstill? Sidhefey Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 8 03-14-2010 02:59 PM
Hermit crabs die... Sharkbait_Ls1 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 11-10-2009 12:00 AM
snails/hermit crabs being eaten drummerj Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 09-26-2006 05:44 PM
How hardy are hermit crabs and snails? leafyseadragon Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 09-11-2003 12:06 AM
Snails and hermit crabs Dewey Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-10-2003 06:16 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.