Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2004, 06:01 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
Is 2.5 gallons too small for a QT Tank?

Wally World has some small bow front tanks. My wife has a beta and live plant in one.

They have internal filters, Whispers I belive just the floss and carbon type. Would these make a ok OT tank?

They would be simple to to water changes on, a 5 gallon bucked would last a week with your water changes ! Toss in a cheap heater and your set !
Thanks ...
Rich
__________________

__________________
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 07:09 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
No, I do not believe you would be able to keep it stable enough to be utilized as a qt.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 08:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
Agree with RR. Too small...

Does you Wal-Mart not have 10 gallon tanks? Mine has them for $10 here. You may want to check and see if they are simply sold out if you can't find them.
__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 08:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 776
10gallon tanks? Walmart.com doesnt have any on their enitire site, LOL
__________________
SaltwaterTeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 08:59 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Walmart.com doesn't list every item they sell in their stores on their site Almost no one will ship a glass tank anyway, unless it is by their drivers.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 10:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
Wally World, every one I've seen, carries empty 10gal tanks.

Their grossly over priced compared to LFS prices IME

Two dollars more expensive then LFS.
__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2004, 11:29 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
Do I need to "cycle" my QT water? I wouldn't think so since you have to do a water change every few days. Do I NEED to cycle the water? I don't have room to keep a QT tank running 24/7. Every few months I can break it out, fill it heat it, break in the new fish and swap him over....
__________________
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2004, 11:34 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
What you can do is keep a sponge in your sump. The bacteria will seed in it. Whenever you need a qt tanks just fill it with water from your main and put that sponge in the filter. Viola, ready to go.
If you can't do that, just use water from your main and do daily water changes.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 12:15 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
Quote:
Originally Posted by quarryshark
What you can do is keep a sponge in your sump. The bacteria will seed in it. Whenever you need a qt tanks just fill it with water from your main and put that sponge in the filter. Viola, ready to go.
If you can't do that, just use water from your main and do daily water changes.
Thakns for the info !
No sump here...yet.. dunno if I'm going to get one or not...
__________________
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2004, 12:48 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Matbe you can put in it your main filter somehow. Just for a week or so before its need.
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2.5 gallon, 5 gallon, qt tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is 29 gallons too small for 2 parrot cichlids? FastFly67 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-25-2008 09:19 PM
New vs. Used Tank (50-60 gallons) eah Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 07-11-2006 09:30 PM
My First Planted Tank- 90 Gallons blang Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 8 02-14-2006 11:11 AM
Litres, Liters, Gallons (UK), Gallons (US) Converting. mattrox Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-22-2005 12:43 PM
How many gallons are my tank and sump????? MrFLGuy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-29-2004 09:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.