Is an automated control system possible?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Buckeye_ME

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I don't yet have a saltwater aquarium, but I plan on building my own in the next 2-3 years. So right now I am in the research/planning stage.

Is it possible to build a "self correcting" aquarium? I am an engineering student right now so if it is possible I think I could figure out a way to build it.

Would it be possible to build a system that can automatically correct pH, nitrate, ammonia...etc?

I know you can't plan on unexpected failure of certain parts, but taking that out of the equation could it be done?

I'm mainly interested in this as a safety net for times I go on vacations or can't attend to the tank. You can't always trust people to know what they are doing with your tank.

Opinions?

You might appreciate http://people.msoe.edu/~barnicks/courses/cs400/19967/aqua/Fldesign.htm this 1997 design from the Milwaukee School of Engineering. . .

Abstract
Many aquarium hobbyists and fish enthusiasts would agree that having an aquarium that completely cares for and monitors the aquarium environment would be a priceless asset to their hobby. The general scope of this project is to do just that. The Automated Aquarium will have the ability to sense and control the pH, temperature, and salinity of the water.

I hope you can improve on what they did back then and post it to the DIY forum.