Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-28-2005, 05:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: south FL
Posts: 51
Is it ok to use tap water if I have a 22 GPM...

carbon filter and water softner?? My water is testing out ok and it was put through copper pipes into the house. Can I use this water?
__________________

__________________
AnnnetteM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 05:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
You can use it as long as you take the chlorine out. BUT... you will run into phosphates and nitrates in the water supply... not to mention countless other chemicals that will lead to algea growth and other catastrophies.

So... I would say no. Either get RO water from a LFS, or get a RO/DI unit and save $$$ on the long run. At least go distilled... but you'll still have phosphates and other impurities.
__________________

__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 05:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: south FL
Posts: 51
The carbon filter was $4000.00 and is a 4.5 foot tank put in the gound of my house, yes it takes out all the chlorine, I tested it. It also reads 0 in Nitrates so how can it throw nitrates into my tank? The phos, I have to check. I have a test for phosphates so I will check it out. If all tests normal can I use the water?
__________________
AnnnetteM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 05:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
Don't get me wrong... many people use just straight tap water. I was guilty of this myself once years ago with my first SW tank. What you want to test for as well is TDS. Todal Dissolved Solvants. It should be 0 if you want to have a healthy tank. This is only possible with a RO/DI (reverse osmosis & deionization) unit.

Some people's watter supply is decent... so it just depends. Even after my "filtering" that I did in the past, TDS was still at 280 ppm. Now, years later, I have a RO/DI unit and TDS reads 0ppm.
__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 05:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: south FL
Posts: 51
Does it matter if I am doing FO with no LR on the TDS? and thanks for all this info. I had this tank as a reef before, but used the LFS for ocean water here in FL. Just wanted to save some money if possible and time and back labor!
__________________
AnnnetteM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2005, 09:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Test for phosphate and silacates.... TDS is not a good measure for tap water it measures all total disolved solids good and bad. So testing tap water for TDS IMO is a waste of time.
Get some LR your tank and fish will be happier...
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 03:07 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
For FO, I would try it. Not sure what kind of water system you have for $4000 but if the TDS is on the low side and Phosphate is nil you will be fine.

I ran a FO tank on tap water for 7+ years. I do use RO/DI water now for my reef but I had no issues until my reef was started. If you get a cyano problem then you can start doing water changes with RO/DI to resolve the problem.

Sounds like you want to try it that way anyway. RO/DI water is the best but there are people that don't use it.

HTH
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tap water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Distilled Water + Tap Water for Bolivian Rams Breeding? BolivianRams Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 27 08-26-2009 10:56 AM
Exchanging tap water with deionized water Strumminthesix Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-07-2005 10:05 PM
Emergency Water Change w/Tap Water Ximat Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 04-28-2005 06:05 PM
Tap Water Conditioner or Distilled water blaster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 02-03-2004 12:00 PM
Tap Water vs. Spring/Distilled Water Tigerlily Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 10-17-2003 01:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.