Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-07-2012, 04:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Is it the placement of my koralia's or just not enough flow?

What's wrong with my flow? I have 2 hydor koralia 1400 and a mag 9 return. I have hard and soft corals. The koralias are on a controller and they turn on at the same time for 15 seconds. Is it the placement of my koralia's or just not enough flow?



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-717283574.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	147.6 KB
ID:	117287
__________________

__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 04:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gregcoyote's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Columbia, Missouri
Posts: 8,320
I would alternate them and try to create a surge action back and forth.
__________________

__________________
Gregcoyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 05:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Ok I'll try that buy as far as flow is it enough?
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
uh.oh...'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Brevard, North Carolina
Posts: 418
I think that depends on a lot. Do you have detritus build up? Are your lps fully extended? I see a lot of numbers thrown around, 50x turn over, 10x turn over.... It's all really relative. What works for them might not work for you. Unless we're talking about protein skimmer pumps or media reactors, its more important as to how you use it, than how much you have. Unless of course you had terrible powerheads, which you do not
__________________
See My Tanks Here
I have found the best way to cycle your tank! Want to know how? Pee in it. Build thread: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-141081-3.html Scientific Reading: Reefkeeping
uh.oh... is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by uh.oh...
I think that depends on a lot. Do you have detritus build up? Are your lps fully extended? I see a lot of numbers thrown around, 50x turn over, 10x turn over.... It's all really relative. What works for them might not work for you. Unless we're talking about protein skimmer pumps or media reactors, its more important as to how you use it, than how much you have. Unless of course you had terrible powerheads, which you do not
10x is for fowlr 30-50x being a reef low end for a softy tank high end for a sps tank which is a pretty good rule of thumb to follow but you are also correct in the fact that every tank is different and not all brands are made equal. To be safe I'd try to make sure you have 35x tank volume for flow.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 06:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Ok, in my case my return isn't pushing too much flow in my DT. I have a slow water movement through my sump. I believe I have about 3000 to 3100 gph. If I add two koralia 750 would this improve my sps growth?

I'm getting too much ditritus build up on my sand. I just ordered 2 brittle, 2 serpant and a sand sifting starfish with hopes that it will correct the problem I'm having.
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 07:13 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich42082
Ok, in my case my return isn't pushing too much flow in my DT. I have a slow water movement through my sump. I believe I have about 3000 to 3100 gph. If I add two koralia 750 would this improve my sps growth?

I'm getting too much ditritus build up on my sand. I just ordered 2 brittle, 2 serpant and a sand sifting starfish with hopes that it will correct the problem I'm having.
3000gph thru your sump??
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 07:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
Total he's talking about. He has a mag 9-head loss I guess it's a little over 3000. And how are we supposed to know without the tank size?
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 08:23 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rich42082's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 527
Good point it's a 90 gallon with a 30 gallon sump
__________________
Rich42082 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 10:21 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 28
Can you move your power heads to the left and right side walls and run them alternating? By pointing them at the front glass like in the picture you are loosing a lot of flow energy. I don't see your return in the pic but a smaller exit will increse the water pressure going in to the tank or bigger will flow more water at lower pressure.
__________________

__________________
angelfish4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, koralia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.