Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-11-2012, 04:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Is my Kenya Tree Coral sick? (i'm new to corals) *PIX incuded*

I bought 3 frags of Kenya Tree Coral 2month ago. they were doing great. i saw their roots cover my rock in just few weeks. however,
about 3days ago they began shrinking and i noticed they became a little slimy and had some tiny silver glitter looking air bubbles on them.

yesterday i decided to give them a Coral Dip. and when i woke up today i saw one open up a little. however the 2other remain closed.

what is going on?

could it be because:
i added miracle mud to my sump 5days ago? (the same glitter looking air bubbles are seem to be on top of the miracle mud)

because a week ago i placed them under brighter light and more flow? (i have led radion light fixture)

the 3 frags are very close to each other and sometimes touch each other when fully extended. (however i thought they are not aggressive)

i also read that leather corals do this sometime. it's their way of cleaning themselves, shedding skin or fragging themselves. (should i just leave them alone? )

any advise/ tips?

Left pic NOW.
Right pic Before.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0354.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	252.5 KB
ID:	137014   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0331.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	264.6 KB
ID:	137015  

Old 12-11-2012, 04:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

They shed their outer skin before growing, keep that in mind

Old 12-11-2012, 04:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

A highe " no no" to wat u did. Adding miracle mud to an establish tank. I assume it is establish, I hope.